Belated Update – Week 24. The Holiday Edition!

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): It was a busy week for week 24! The beginning of the week saw an unexpected job interview for me. I didn’t end up getting the job (being 24 weeks pregnant probably had something to do with it), but I got to practice my interview skills and I got some great feedback. We had a really intense week at work as we prepared not only for the holiday shut down, but the launch of a completely new system going into place on the 2nd. The beginning of the week also held my work Christmas party, which was a blast.

Some holiday decor

Decor and a reminder of our loved ones

One of my Mum's fused glass pieces and some holiday bling

My holidays started on Friday the 23rd, so I’ve been lucky enough to be off for a while now :D The 24th we went to my brother-in-law’s place for an amazing dinner and to watch a movie. Christmas morning itself was very quiet for Pat and I. We didn’t do anything until the evening when we went over to S’s Dad’s place for Christmas dinner. We had a wonderful time and were made to feel like part of the family. It was exactly what I needed.

Hilarious and awesome gift! Non-Alcoholic wine from S <3

How far along am I? 25 weeks, 2 days.

I am thinking… about how lucky we are. Our friends and family made this a great Christmas. I can’t believe that next year we’ll have an 8 month old!! Spending so much time with our niece and nephews made us really anxious to hold our little man. Can’t wait!

I am thankful for… See above! I’m a big ball of love this week!

From the kitchen… Lots! Once the baking was done, I decided to break out the crock pot and try two new recipes (both found on Pinterest, btw). The big big hit of the week was Beef Stew, from this recipe. I was really worried about this one. The meat we bought was about to expire, I threw it together quickly in the morning before work and accidentally set the crock pot to cook on HIGH for 10 hours, rather than low. I was so sad when I got home to discover this. Luckily, I got home early and was able to turn it down and saved it (it ended up cooking about 7 hours at high, and then an hour or two on low). It turned out SO WELL. Seriously, it was incredibly tasty and fed us for days. Not only that, but I was happy as a clam to eat this for every meal for days. Can’t wait to make it again. (Sorry, it was too tasty to photograph. I was too preoccupied with eating it. NOM)

The next attempt was this Chicken Cheese and Broccoli concoction, from here. I was pretty nervous about it initially, because broccoli is now on my “Do not fly” list due to terrible gas pains caused by my casserole. Was really liquidy, but tasty. Definitely needs more veg and…something. Did ok though.

I am wearing…Lots of new clothes! This is a bit of a cheat, because technically it’s Week 25 news, but Pat got me a ton of new clothes from Thyme during their boxing week sale.

I am creating… Not much this week, aside from our baked goods.

I am going… to take it easy. I had big plans to do lots of cleaning and decluttering this week, but instead it’s turned into a wonderful week of friends, family, and spending some quality time with Pat. I couldn’t trade it for the world.

I am reading… Some more baby books (my SIL lent me some reads on baby sleep) and The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin, as well as rereading one of my favourite series: Outlander. Don’t judge me. Those books are AWESOME. I’m actually on Voyager now.

I am hoping…for some patience, calm, and strength in the new year.

I am hearing… Lots of holiday music, the new Florence and the Machine album and the new Mumford and Sons single:

Around the house…Nothing new, yet.

One of my favorite things…Spending time with our loved ones. We’ve been so spoiled by this the last couple of days. I’ve loved it!

Weight Gain: 20 lbs! All of a sudden! This is what happens when I bake like mad and eat some amazing Christmas dinners!
Baby in the Produce World: According to The Bump, we’re still a papaya, however, according to Baby Centre, Liam is about the size of an ear of corn.
Movement/Signs of the Baby: TONS of movement. I’m actually feeling him at night now. Starting this week (week 25, again, cheating I know), we can actually see him move around. I’m feeling him in my ribs a lot these days.
Cravings and Aversions: Beef Stew, sweets, milk.  Aversions: Not so much an aversion, but I’ve discovered that all those gassy foods are KILLER to me now,  so I’m having to avoid all of my favourite veg :(
Body Changes/Weirdness: Still having pelvic pain, and lots of discomfort in my hips and back if I sit in one position too long. Starting to swell a bit and I am definitely waddling now.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: We’re starting to plot about the nursery and what it’s going to be like to have our little man here. We’re having some good discussions about parenting and our plans.
Other Pictures from this Week:

Right before my work party on Monday the 19th

Me, on Christmas eve

Pat and I, on Christmas evening.

An awful picture of me, but Pat is too cute not to post.

Leave a Reply

