Bees and Foxes

Imported from LJ – Bees and Foxes
They’re everywhere to me right now. I know there is a message for me in it, I just can’t seem to figure it out.

With the bees, it’s been something on my mind for a while. The Beekeeper album by Tori Amos kind of started it off. This was continued in her book, piece by piece, which briefly goes over the sacred nature of bees and beekeeping. Since then, especially in the last few days, I’ve been bombarded. I read “The Secret Life of Bees” by Sue Monk Kidd (Awesome book, btw) which focuses on bees and their tie to the sacred feminine (in tht specific case, the black madonna). At work I keep dealing with census’ of bee keepers. Bees themselves tend to come up in conversations around me, without any help from me, etc…

I don’t know enough about bees to know what to think. I think I’m going to do some futher research. I looked into local beekeepers and found a Pagan couple just outside ottawa, who make “Blessed Bee” honey. Heh. I’m tempted to ask if I can visit and talk to them.

Foxes have been sneaking up in a similar way for a while. Nathan bought me a fox print, saying he thought of me when he saw it. Pat’s Mum came up with a silly nickname for me “The little fox”, I keep hearing about them in conversations, in articles, and so forth. Hmm.

Foxes and bees everywhere, but what does it all mean?

Update:
Since this post, there have been a few new “Bee” things.
-Bought an album by the lead singer of a great band out of Montreal, Stars. The singer, Amy Millan finally put out this solo album. I had to laugh when I picked it up. “Honey from the Tomb” with a big ‘ol bee on the cover
-I told my Dad about the bee whatnot, he started laughing and put down the newspaper he was reading. Right there, in front of us both, an article on Bees in Ottawa.
-I went to put the dog out and noticed some freakin’ huge bugs flying around lazily. My mum, out front, noticed them too. Bees. About 24 at the front of the house. about 7-12 at the back. Turns out they may have been June Bugs, but we’re not sure
-David Usher’s been working on a new song, I just found today: Life of Bees (which you can find on his myspace site)
-I went to Michael’s to pick up some craft supplies. Almost ran right into a huge bee stamp kit.
-I’ve always been attracted to amber jewellery
-I was going to see a woman from a local pagan group with Lis to talk about botanical tattoos. Turns out she’s a beekeeper

Kat has leant me a book on Animals and Shamanism, an it’s given me quite the insight into the situation. ONe of the key points that I’m taking from this is that I’m working too hard without enjoying the fruits of my labour. Working for the sake of working and missing out on life. Hmm.

4 thoughts on “Bees and Foxes

  1. Pingback: Death in my Shadow « In Among the Heather

  2. I have a small pendant that is a bee – it’s a round of amber – with silver wings & head. I don’t wear it currently – did you want it? A group of us are knitting at the Bridgehead @ Wellie & Caroline tonight…would you like to come?

  3. We try for Thursdays most weeks. Small group of ladies. You can email me at … me at betseydoodle dot ca. I can put you on the list.

Leave a Reply

