KniCroBloWeek: Post 2. Aspirations


Aspirations

Blog about a pattern or project which you aspire to. Whether it happens to be because the skills needed are ones which you have not yet acquired, or just because it seems like a huge undertaking of time and dedication, most people feel they still have something to aspire to in their craft. If you don’t feel like you have any left of the mountain of learning yet to climb, say so!

It’s funny, but that Mountain has always been there for me. It’s certainly changed over the years since I started, but it’s definitely always existed. I honestly don’t remember my first mountain, but I remember the one that lasted the longest. The beautiful and lovely, Rogue Sweater by Jenna Wilson:

Elkbiologist from Ravelry's Rogue

Sweaters scared me. The seaming, the fit. It all seemed impossible. Add to that the mysterious cables, I thought it would be impossible. The hood won my heart and I swore that one day, I would make myself a Rogue. That day, I could truly call myself a knitter.
It was later that I realized just how easy cables were. Charts can be complicated, but nothing compared to lace (if you ask me). When I made that discovery, suddenly my mountain changed. It was still a cabled sweater, but it was far more complicated. My mountain became Demi, by Kim Hargreaves from Rowan’s Vintage Knits:

Parikha's Demi, from Ravelry

It was beautiful. Delicate and it completely won my heart.  That is, until I started on Jemima (who would then become Mrs. Darcy) and realized that I don’t currently possess the patience to knit sweaters.
Today, I think I have two major goals. I want to be able to do colourwork and I want to knit a real shawl.  I’ve dabbled in lace, but it’s never been anything complicated or large. My inspirations:

Evelyn A. Clark's Swallow Tail Shawl

Deep in the Forest Mittens by Tuulia Salmela

So, there you have it :) Colourwork frightens me, like cables used to. I love the results, I just don’t know that I can do it yet. Lace intimidates me because of the attention it needs, and how you really need to be on the ball every step of the way.

Leave a Reply

