KniCroBloWeek: Post 5&6

Ack. Did it again, didn’t I? This week has just been too busy. I was out with friends Thursday/Friday, and then Friday evening was spent with my honey, watching movies and hanging out. I belated present:


Location, Location, Location

Where do you like to indulge in your craft? Is your favourite arm chair your little knitting cubby area, or do you prefer to ‘knit in public’? Do you like to crochet in the great outdoors, perhaps, or knit in the bath, or at the pub?

I guess I’ve returned to my roots with my craft. When I first started, I wasn’t at all comfortable KIP. I kept it to my family home and then my apartment when I moved out. It wasn’t until my friend, Melissa, and I found the Knitting Meetups that I started knitting in public. We met once a month at a Bridgehead coffee shop downtown, and then another day in the month at the Bridgehead closer to our apartment in the Hintonburg area. I have also knit as part of a living and breathing exhibit at the Museum of Civilizations craft exhibit a few years ago, which was neat but unnerving. I’ve knit in class, I’ve knit on planes, trains, automobiles and buses. I’ve knit at friends’ houses. I’ve knit in pubs. I’ve knit outdoors and in movie theaters. My favourite place in the world to knit is in my living room, on the couch, in front of the TV. I have light. I have access to my pattern (and the internet for tips, notes and errata).

Me and some of the ladies of Knit Night

Me and some of the Ottawa Knitters at the Museum of Civ as part of their live craft exhibit

Knitting in my ugly orange chair

Revisit a past F/O

Bring the fortune and life of a past finished project up to the present. Document the current state and use of an object you have knitted or crocheted, whether it is the hat your sister wears to school almost every day, or a pair of socks you wore until they were full of hole. Or maybe that jumper that your did just didn’t like that much.

This is a tough one. Which piece to follow up? Do you want to see my first scarf? Or my first lace wrap that met the Yarn Harlot? Unfortunately, most of my pieces were gifts, and so I have no idea how they fare. One, was lost in a house fire. Another may be in Japan, if its owner kept it.  I guess the easiest is the one piece that I have handy.

Rebecca Lace Cardi

From Rebecca 29. Pattern info on Rav here.

Started: April 2005

Completed: October 2005

My project notes on Rav here.

Pictures when completed:

Taken in 2005

Taken in 2005

I wouldn’t say that it’s the most worn FO I have, but it has gotten some wear. I wore it out a few times, including my brother in law’s wedding reception (no pictures unfortunately). Most notable outing was definitely the Yarn Harlot book signing:

Me and the Harlot

Today, I’m about 40lbs heavier and it still fits. Ah, the joys of the wrap top.

Hard to get a shot of knitwear when holding the camera yourself...

Rebecca, today.

She’s in pretty good shape. It was definitely the project that taught and challenged me the most so far. She’s a great addition to the wardrobe for sure. I always get tons of compliments on it when I wear it out. :D

Leave a Reply

