Life and Stressing

I don’t have a whole lot to report today. It’s been a difficult week, with my stress levels rising almost daily. I’ve been trying to balance that out by spending quality time with people who calm me down and doing things that bring me joy. It’s hard though. DH (short for Dear Husband) and I went to the family home this week to do some cleaning, sorting and packing.

You see, when I moved out the last time, I never really felt that it would be The Last Time. Mum was sick and we all knew that she’d need help eventually. In fact, in the months leading up to the Move Date (The 10th, the day after Mum died), Mum had us start to move things in. So, now that we’re going through the estate, I’m also packing up things that I had only recently moved back in. It’s difficult. We got a lot done, so that was great. It’s such a long and hard process. My nerves are shot and I’m exhausted all the time.

Thursday, after going out to see The Last Airbender (which, btw, wasn’t bad at all. I think people aren’t used to movies for children, who actually take the time to explain and repeat things for their younger audience.), DH and I had an unfortunate run in with a complete dick. One of the main roads in the west end of town, where we live, is under construction. All of the lane lines are currently gone, and this guy was following the lead of someone who didn’t really know where the lanes were. They ended up beside Pat and I, in the turning lane. After the light, that we were stopped at, the 4 lanes became two, with two turning lanes turning to the left. So, Pat and I kept going straight, as per the lane that we were in, and these two dumbasses tried to do the same, beside us. Of course, they were forced into our lane by the median. The first car cut in front of us, and the truck behind him tried to do the same, but was forced behind us by the road and his speed. He tailgated us SUPER CLOSE until the next light, when he pulled up beside us. He yelled at us a bunch, with his terrified daughter/girlfriend/wife, trying to hide beside him. Pat told him that we were in the right lane, and that he had infact been in the turning lane. The guy got more aggravated and wouldn’t listen, so I spoke up and told him that the reason he was forced in behind us is because the rest of his lane disappeared to the left of him. You know, in a turn. Like turning lanes do. Apparently, he didn’t take my insight very well because he threw his three day old coffee into our car at my face. I was completely shocked. Pat was LIVID and when the guy took off, Pat followed him to have some Serious Words with him. The guy ran, so we went on our way. I couldn’t believe that someone would react that way to such a stupid thing. He was in the wrong, wouldn’t hear it, was confrontational, and in the end, violent. This, in turn, made my husband violent and defensive of me.

Not a good night. I went home, cleaned up and showered. It’s dumb, but it’s something that has been bothering me for days. Who does that? Who throws stuff at people? Who reacts so strongly because a woman decided to share her opinion? In my mind, if you’re going to throw shit at me, you better stick around to defend your actions, rather than running like a chicken.

Then, I wonder what he’s going through that he’s so angry. What is he so angry about that he’s putting on us?

Going through what I’ve gone through, seeing the anger and the hurt I’ve felt, I wonder about these assholes that come in an hurt us, or try to. What brought them here? I mean, I’m sure it’s possible that he’s just an angry dirt bag who gets off on being a bully. I calms me down a bit to think that maybe he’s not terrible by nature, but is just hurting too. Maybe he’s even a little ashamed of himself now. Maybe.

2 thoughts on “Life and Stressing

  1. Wow! What a dick! I know I should say “Oh, don’t let it bother you.” but I also know that if someone had done this to me it would grate on me for ages to come. Poor you :(

    • Thanks :) We’re over it now, but at the time I was like “HOW COULD SOMEONE BE THIS MUCH OF A DICK?! GAAAAH!!”. I guess it’s a good thing that this sort of behaviour is surprising to me.

Leave a Reply

