Why I Do It

Some people have asked me if working for the Cancer society is the best thing for me right now, having lost my Mum so recently.

Today, I had a little reminder of why I do this every day, even on the hard days.

There’s this girl. She lost some friends and family to cancer. She decided she wanted to do something about it, so for her 25th birthday she decided to do a 25.4k walk through the west end of Ottawa to raise money for research. The day of her run was one of our hotter days in Ottawa, around 45 degrees celcius (about 113 Fahrenheit for those of you in the states). She started at 8:30 in the morning and wrapped up at around 12:30 in the afternoon. Her friend road her bicycle beside her, to keep her safe and to give her support. This friend had lost her sister to Ovarian cancer two years ago.  Her friends and family cheered for her, all along the route.

Today her mother came in to drop off the money raised by the event. She told me that this girl framed the letter I sent her before the run. It was a simple letter, thanking her for her fundraising and the hard work that comes along with that. This woman, the girl’s mother, hugged me and called me Friend. She thanked me for all of my hard work.  I told her I did nothing, that it was her daughter that walked 25kms. She reminded me that every day I come in, help people run these events, I support them through their fundraising and I remind them why they are making the effort in the first place.

Sure, some days are hard. Some days I have to look through the obituaries and hear our donors sad stories of lost loved ones…but other days are like this. Celebratory. These moments help to heal me and I know my Mum would be so proud.

2 thoughts on “Why I Do It

  1. I salute you for your work. It IS hard. And it IS worth it.

    My best friend/soul sister passed away in April ’09 from breast cancer. I have also had my mother-in-law and 4 co-workers that have either been through treatment for breast cancer, or had an immediate family member go through it.

    I haven’t been able to bring myself to do much more than wear my pink ribbon and t-shirt and donate blood to Red Cross, though.

    You’re right, there are times that are more painful than others. The fact that you are able to be so proactive, though, is amazing. Don’t ever sell what you do short. To the person you encourage, the one you give information to, the people you help and inspire every day… you’re amazing.

    {HUGS}

Leave a Reply

