All good things…

Sorry for the lack of posting, everyone. Life has taken some unexpected turns lately and it’s taken a lot of my attention to roll with it.

Well, I can’t say that it was entirely unexpected, as I had been sensing the impending doom for about a week now, maybe two, but sometimes you just hope your intuition is wrong. Yesterday I was called into a meeting with our regional director and found out, to the surprise of everyone in the building, that with the restructure of our unit, my job no longer exists. As of September 1st.

I have a few options: I can take some time off and wallow in my own self pity, I can leave here and start job hunting for something else or I can apply for the new position that is being created, which is a fusion of full time reception and customer service. Right now, the plan is to apply for the new reception job. Pat and I want to start a family sometime in the next year, so it wouldn’t be terrible just to have something safe and solid (the reception job is full position, not a contract, with benefits) until I am ready for baby. Plus, they want me to have French, so they would pay for me to have French lessons. A definite bonus.

So, I’ve been pretty down the last couple of days, as you can imagine. It’s yet another thing to add to the pile of Things Gone Not Quite Right and I can’t help but feel a bit beaten down about everything.

Talking, via email, with my dear friend L, has helped keep things in perspective (and me away from the lovely bottle of vodka sitting in my fridge). She quoted me something out of a book she’s reading, Cakes and Ale for the Pagan Soul: “The Goddess hasn’t brought you all this way to make a fool of you, nor of her plans for you”. I needed to hear that. I know, after all of this, I’ll be stronger, and more capable to handle anything. I have faith that eventually, life will calm down a bit and I’ll find peace.

Moments like these, I try to remember that I don’t have it so bad. Sure, some people have it easier, but all of our experiences are unique and while I may have had a hard two years, there have been moments of incredible blessings. I just have to keep moving forward, growing and healing.

Three of Wands by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law

2 thoughts on “All good things…

  1. I’m sorry for your current frustrations but you have come to a healthy position on it, by the sounds of it. I’ll be sending good energy your way! And thanks for posting the quotation from Cakes and Ale; I needed those words, too.

Leave a Reply

