Recipe – Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies (w/ notes to make it Vegan!)

Growing up, I was never the one that spent a lot of time with Mum in the kitchen. It wasn’t until late high school that I developed an interest in baking, and even to this day, I could care less about cooking but absolutely love pulling out a new batch of cookies. Probably explains the 45lbs I’ve gained since then :P

In University, I discovered that I had a whole new audience of supportive and encouraging test subjects. Not only were they starving and poor, but they always gave me great feedback. I started making HUGE batches of cookies, which would last maybe 20 minutes in the Humanities Lounge. I tried out lots of different things and eventually developed an arsenal of great cookie recipes.  One of the most requested and most appreciated of all of these cookies were my pumpkin cookies. They were easily adaptable for a variety of dietary needs. They eat like a meal and they have the squishy texture of muffin tops.

With fall sneaking in, I decided they would be the best first recipe to share with you. This is the second time that I’ve shared this recipe. The first was last night, to a good friend of mine from University who has been requesting it for the last 6 years.

I hope your friends and family enjoy it as much as mine do! Enjoy!

Heather’s Secret Pumpkin Cookie Recipe

  • 2 cups Sugar
  • 1 can pumpkin puree (or fresh pumpkin. If you’re in a hurry, pumpkin pie filling works too)
  • 1 cup butter/marg/shortening (for vegan recipes, use vegan margarine)
  • 2 tbsp Vanilla extract (For the love of all that is holy and right in the world, use EXTRACT not artificial flavouring)
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 ounces chocolate chips (vegan, semi-sweet, milk, cranberries, raisins, whatever. Use what floats your boat. With this batch, I used semi-sweet, milk chocolate and butterscotch chips. )
  • 2 tsp each cinnamon and  spices (nutmeg, allspice, clove, whatever! Add to your taste. I’ve done everything from a pinch of each to tablespoons of each. Depends on what you’d like. If using pumpkin pie filling, keep in mind that it’s already spiced.)

    Getting to work!

1. Preheat oven to 375˚F/190˚C

2. Cream the sugar, marg/butter/short, pumpkin and vanilla together. Mix until light and well combined.

I almost always add more vanilla than the recipe asks for.

Mix well, otherwise you'll get chunks of butter throughout.

3. Mix the flour, baking soda and spices in a separate bowl. Once mixed, slowly stir into the creamed mixture. Combine.

I always mix dry together in a seperate bowl. Mix it in slowly otherwise it'll be harder to mix. I use a measuring spoon/cup for this to avoid mixer messes.

Mix well! It'll be pretty sticky and dough-y

4. Stir in chocolate chips/whatever. (I don’t have a picture of this because I first use a spoon and then my hands to blend them in properly. This is where my Kitchen Witchery comes into play. I think it’s important to have some sort of physical contact with your food. I try to think of happy, warm and cozy thoughts while mixing by hand.)

5. Place small balls of batter on a greased cookie sheet. (I always make bigger balls, because I’m used to feeding University students or my husband :P Note, these cookies do not spread out like your typical chocolate chip, so they will stay roughly in the shape you plop them down as.)

Personally, I prefer to use Parchment Paper instead of cooking sprays or oils. No sticking and much easier clean up too!

6. Bake 12-15 minutes. Let cool a bit before storing or eating.

I prefer them squishy and moist, so I cook them for about 13 minutes, and until they are just starting to brown.

7. ENJOY!!

6 thoughts on “Recipe – Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies (w/ notes to make it Vegan!)

  1. Thanks for the recipe. Memories of the hums lounge! I don’t think I was around when you were bringing cookies there, but a friend of mine did start Pie Club when I was there. For about two years every week the lounge hosted a feast of several pies… It was awesome.

    • Heh, I think over the 4 years that I was there, the tradition of large quantities of baked goods became very important :D I remember hearing about Pie Club, I think in my fourth year (06?) That’s awesome!!

      I miss the lounge so much some days :(

  2. Pingback: Double, double toil and trouble; Fire burn, and caldron bubble | Pardon My French

Leave a Reply

