Questions and Agenda

Sorry for the lack of posts lately. Honestly, I haven’t much to say that hasn’t already been said. I’ve been slowly working away on Mrs. Darcy and am just under halfway done the last sleeve and I only have one ball of yarn left. EEP! This is yarn that I purchased years ago from Elann, so I’m SOL if I run out.

Isn’t it pretty? Well, I guess it’s pretty plain looking, but to touch it makes all the difference. It’s a wool and alpaca blend that is this beautiful tweedy plum colour.  For those with the Rav, here’s the stash page for it. So close to being done! I think when I finish all the pieces, I’m going to need to drop by the local Knit Night and ask for some help with seaming. It’s something I’ve never been good at, and I want this sweater to be perfect! Meanwhile, speaking of sweaters…

Tis nearly that time of year….my favourite of all: Samhain! In honour of this, and considering how important it is to me this year, I’ve decided to join  The Domestic Witch’s  Halloween Blog Party! You can read more about it  here!

I plan on starting to post on Samhain related things started October 1st.  I haven’t fully decided on the nature of the posts yet, but I’m excited about the project.

Meanwhile, I’ve been doing a lot of reading on pregnancy and babies lately (no little bean yet, I promise. It’s more just prep-work. We’re hoping for next year some time, but not before at least one of us have a full time job with benefits that isn’t a contract). Are there any that you’d recommend? My favourites so far are Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth and The Complete Book of Pregnancy and Childbirth

Also, have any of you ever been to Jamaica before? We’ve booked our honeymoon and I’d love to hear about things that you enjoyed while you were there. We’re going to Negril, if that helps.

On that note, I have to get back to work. I’m taking at least a week off in the near future, so expect some posts about cleaning, purging and things of the sort.

4 thoughts on “Questions and Agenda

  1. The husband and I went to Negril last March. Sunset at the Palms to be exact (your picture looks as though it could be from there).

    We are “quiet” people when it comes to vacationing. (I knit an entire shawl, the husband read six books).

    The place was nice / well kept, the beach was beautiful, and without competition for chairs / access etc.

    There was “entertainment” each night at the hotel – I used quote marks for a reason. If your looking for partying it up – this hotel wouldn’t be your speed. However, they are beside Sandals – if you like your nightlife and loud guests.

    The people of Jamaica were all very welcoming and lovely.

    • Thanks for the info! The hubby and I are pretty quiet people too :) I’m already trying to pick out what projects to work on and which books to bring.

      We’re planning on Couples Swept Away, though I don’t know where that is in relation to the Sandals, etc..

  2. Ah!

    Your hotel is in the bay after where ours was. Be prepared for a longish ride to the hotel – 45 minutes to 1hour + (depending on how the traffic pans out).

    It really is a beautiful island. There are some touristy things to do in Negril (sort of a cliff dive thing / some fish shack), but quite honestly – the husband and I just enjoyed doing nothing but relaxing.

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

