Mabon 2010

Depending on when you celebrate it, it’s Mabon time! (Or Ostara for those across the way) I’ll probably be celebrating tomorrow, but we’ll see how I’m feeling later today. I wish you all the best, whether you celebrate it or not. For me, it is so timely, it’s almost too perfect.  There are plenty of blogs out there that tell you all about Mabon, so let me be brief.

For me, Mabon is about recognizing and celebrating the bounty of life, as well as what I call “Fall Cleaning”. It’s about preparing for the colder months, tidying and making yourself and your space ready.

Fall has always been my favourite season, followed closely in second by Spring. I think the reason I’m so drawn to these two transitional seasons is that they offer so much promise. You can feel the energy of change in the air. It’s invigorating. The colours are incredible, and the weather can be spectacular. From an early age, fall meant a new beginning, with the start of school. Several of my jobs have started in the fall as well, after I finished University. It just seems like the appropriate time to take a step forward and make a change in your life.

I took this week off work, not realizing that it was Mabon. My plan was to go through the house and give it a deep clean. I want to go through our things and make piles for storage so that we can claim our space while we’re here. I’m tired of feeling like our house dictates our life and creates this constant sense of clutter and anxiety. For some great tips on magical decluttering, check out this post by the Domestic Witch.

An unplanned celebration of past experience is that I’ve started scrapbooking. Pat’s best friend, Jan, asked me if I would be interested in hanging out and working on our books together. I’ve been meaning to do this for YEARS (I got my first bit of scrapbooking stuff about 7 years ago for my birthday from a close friend, I have yet to touch a single page) so I figured it was the perfect time. It’s been really fun going through old pictures and picking out the ones that I want to be part of a collection.

Pat and I are planning on going out for dinner this weekend to celebrate three months of marriage. It may seem like a small silly thing, but I’ve always believed that three months is what it takes for me to adapt to a new situation, and if we can get through three months and still be just has happy as we were the day we wed, then I think we’ll be ok for a long time. :)

Unfortunately, this week also holds some harder events. One is a meeting with the family to decide the fate of the “stuff” within my mother’s house. I am very very nervous about this and can only pray that it goes well. Lastly, this week also holds the 2 year anniversary of my father’s death.

Coolest Dad Ever

My father and I were very close. I wouldn’t say that I was a Daddy’s Girl, but we definitely had a close and unique relationship that I am very lucky to have had. We were all completely shocked when he passed away suddenly two years ago. His health seemed to be decent (for a man of his weight and medical history) and so we were completely taken off guard when he was found dead on the kitchen floor of the family home, from an apparent heart attack. I miss him every day, and am lucky that he has visited me in my dreams many times since his death. My life will never be the same without him, though I am glad that he went exactly the way he wanted to – quickly, with minimal pain, and in the comfort of his own home.

So, all together I bring a lot with me to my altar on Mabon. Lots to be thankful for and lots to work through.  I’m wishing you all the best in the new season :)

4 thoughts on “Mabon 2010

    • Thanks! And to you as well :)

      Me too! I found it by searching for appropriate Mabon pictures on google images. She popped up every where I looked, so I figured she was the one for me :)

  1. What’s in a name? I’m starting to think that there is more then my mother ever realized! I am new to blogging (don’t laugh) but the name caught my eye as did the piture of the field of Heather…and it was so nice to read your thoughts on Mabon. I’ve been reflecting on the best way to welcome autumn and have to chuckle for it is time to relieve myself of the clutter around here too! I am so sorry for the loss of your father, and I can empathize in that I lost my mother a year ago and have regret every sabbat she is not by my side but I feel her guiding me along. I wish for you a wonderful week off…Blessed be

    • Welcome Heather! Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so sorry for the loss of your mother. I hope you have a wonderful Mabon :) Thank you for stopping by! Blessed be!

Leave a Reply

