Welcome to the Halloween Party!

Welcome to the Halloween Party folks!  For those that missed my previous post about this, I’m participating in the lovely Domestic Witch’s Halloween Blog Party. For the month of October, I will be posting off and on about Halloween and Samhain. To start things off, I figure I should probably talk about what Halloween and Samhain mean to me.

As a child, my parents were never really big holiday people. We didn’t go all out for anything, except maybe Christmas. Halloween was one of those annoying events that my mother dreaded having to deal with. I can understand it now, but at the time, I was always so bitter that I never got a cool costume to wear, though she did try her best to dress us up as best she could with a minimal budget.

A couple of my costumes:

A...bear?

This time, a carebear!

Despite this lack of real interest on their part, I’ve always loved it. I was sort of a weird kid. I was the storyteller of my grade, so I was always invited to sleepovers to scare the crap out of my friends. I would make up these incredible scary stories out of no where and had a great love of monsters and legends. I read a lot of children’s gore (Fear Street, goosebumps, Christopher Pike, etc…). I also absolutely LOVED dressing up and playing pretend. Halloween, of course, became my favourite day of the year.

At the age of 14, I finally recognized that I was pagan and suddenly my favourite time of year took on a whole new meaning. It was no longer just Halloween, but now Samhain. I took over decorating my parents place and handing out candy. I researched and celebrated whatever way I felt suited. By the age of 16, I had a small group of friends that participated in an annual tradition of a nice dinner and ritual. Once I had my own apartment, me and whoever was my roommate at the time would play hosts and take the whole event very seriously. When I turned 19, I also started attending the annual Witches Gathering, hosted by the Ottawa Pagan Community at a local club.

Me, at the Witches Gathering, in 2003? Dressed as Ophelia

Me, ready for WG 2004, dressed as "Autumn"

WG 2005. I'm on the far right, dressed as Amalthea from The Last Unicorn

WG 2007, Retro costume.

WG 2009, me as a Gypsy

This Halloween is still undecided. I don’t have a costume (I don’t even have a potential costume in mind. How sad is that?) We shall see. It’s hard, facing Samhain, when you’ve just lost someone close to you. It is the very reason I didn’t go in 2006 (my grandmother) or 2008 (my father).

Samhain/Halloween is a truly magical time of year for me. I’m not sure what the correct term is for someone like me (I’ve heard Greywalker, psychic, and sensitive), but I have a very close connection with the dead. I’ll save that for another post, but the point is that this is a time that I feel the veil is very thin. I can feel the dead around me, and while some would find this tarrying, usually it’s a comforting time for me. It’s a time of paying respect to your ancestors. It’s also exciting and full of energy. It’s like New Years Eve, a time ripe with possibilities. It’s a time that I embrace the darker parts of myself, while making plans for the new year. I reflect back and give thanks for all of my blessings and try to recognize all of the lessons that I’ve learned.

It’s a time when I feel a little less freaky. Everyone gets a little witchy and dark around Halloween, as well as creative and outgoing. The incredible costumes I’ve seen on my friends have always amazed me. It’s a time when I feel very connected with my surroundings and the community. It’s a party. It’s a joy, just as much as it’s a time for reverence and contemplation.

I’m excited at this chance to share my Samhain experience with my readers. I hope you enjoy everything I have to share :D I plan on sharing a bit about myself and my traditions, as well as some tips and recipes. Please let me know if you have any questions for me or topics you’d like me to address.

Leave a Reply

