End of a Decade

Sorry for the lack of posting. My sister’s visit was lovely and I put all of my attention into spending time with her and the rest of my family (comprised of the in-laws and my dearest friends).

My sister and I decorating the Yule tree with homemade ornaments

We had a great time, though it was far too short. We were spoiled with gifts and good food. I’m sure I’ve put on 5lbs the past week alone :)

I can hardly believe that the new year is already right around the corner. I can’t say that I’m sad to be parting with 2010. This year has been a rollercoaster of ups and downs, with the greatest and the lowest moments of my life. Further to that, I can hardly believe that the decade is coming to a close as well. I remember the approach of 2000, and how scared and excited people were. I was 16, full of plans and dreams. I had just fallen in love and would shortly thereafter have my first heart break. My friends were number one and I was sure that everything would work out.  This decade my life has completely changed. It was a time of much growth and self discovery. I am a very different person today, but I look back with fondness.

Me, at 16

I miss my parents very much, but am glad to have the memories that we shared. I know that I will forever have their love and that we will meet again one day. I am thrilled that my sister and I have become best friends, and that I’ve found a love that fulfills me. I still hurt from the loss of those who one could call family, and those who had been my best friends. I’ve gone through so many jobs. I’ve attended and graduated university. I’ve met my very closest friends. I’ve redefined my priorities and my goals.

I have become an adult.

Me, Yule 2010.

My plans for New Years Eve is to celebrate Hogamany. We’ve started some of the cleaning, but I plan on finishing tomorrow afternoon. We’re going to a friend’s place in the evening for a potluck (eating early, but that’s alright. I’m making “cakes” for our post-midnight feast). Nothing too fancy, but just perfect for us. I’m going to leave tokens of what I’d like for the new year on my makeshift altar. Maybe make a list of goals. What are your plans to celebrate?

I wish you all the very best in 2011. May we all give honour to the time that has passed and move forward with hope and optimism. May we learn from the past.

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “End of a Decade

  1. “This year has been a rollercoaster of ups and downs, with the greatest and the lowest moments of my life.”

    I wrote a post mirroring yours today.

    Great Minds : )

    Happy New Year! Look out 2011, we’re kickin’ ass & takin’ names!

Leave a Reply

