Winter Blahs

I’ve been meaning to post for days, but I just can’t seem to find reason enough to write. So, to keep myself communicating, I’ve joined The Simple Woman’s Daybook project. I love these posts when I see them, so why not participate?

FOR TODAY

Outside my window… is freedom. People around me comment about how cold it is out there, but seeing the snow and the descending sun tells me it’s nearly time for me to go home and have a bit of fresh air.

I am thinking… of ways to overcome anger and pain. When people are hurtful and spiteful, how do you overcome? Also, I’m thinking about an upcoming baby shower that I plan on attending.

I am thankful for… my husband, who is endlessly supportive and laughs only a little when I dedicate an entire evening to a certain video game.

From the kitchen… I’m learning to love cooking. This is a big deal, for those of you who know me. I am not one who loves to put a meal together. For the first time, I’ve been really enjoying trying new things and making delicious dinners for Pat and I. Yum. Tonight is take out, but I’m hoping to do my favourite meatloaf this week, as well as a homemade beef strogannof.

I am wearing… work clothes. Dress pants that were altered to be a little too short by my Mum’s best friend, a couple of months before she died. The sweater is a favourite of mine that I’ve had for years. It’s a plain dark blue v-neck sweater that is great for the constant up and down temperatures of my work place. I’m also wearing my blue sparkly flats from my wedding, which makes me smile every time I look at them

I am creating… a home with my hubby. We have plans to move things around yet again to try to make our space work better for us. It includes moving one of the computers down to the living room so that we spend more time together.

I am going… to visit my mother’s house tonight to get some work done there. It’s hard, but it needs to be worked on.

I am reading… Princeps’ Fury by Jim Butcher.

I am hoping… That tomorrow is less busy than today. I feel like I’ve been run ragged. I just want to relax.

I am hearing… My co-workers chatting, and the maintenance staff working on a vent directly over my head. BANG BANG BANG

Around the house… I have many dirty dishes to put in the dishwasher and many cats to stumble over while I sweep the floors.

One of my favorite things… Sitting in a cafe, busy or quiet, sipping a chai latte with either the good company of a loved on or a well-loved book.

A few plans for the rest of the week: Laundry, cleaning, working at Mum’s house, staying late at work on Thursday to help with a fair we’re throwing, going to a friend’s place on Friday for a poker night and then REST.

Here is picture for thought I am sharing…

Thank you James Van der Memes. You are awesome.

3 thoughts on “Winter Blahs

  1. I had no interest in cooking until I married too. All of a sudden I became a Domestic Goddess. I’ve got really simple but delicious recipes on my blog if you want to take a gander.

  2. Pingback: Daybook – Week 2 | Chelsea’s Photojournal

Leave a Reply

