The Noms

Inspired by the lovely and highly entertaining Kate of Elefantitas Alegres, I’ve been doing some thinking about meal planning. I haven’t gone nearly so far as to schedule each day’s meal (mainly because that totally goes against my flighty gemini nature. “Commit to a specific meal FOR EACH DAY OF THE WEEK?! But what if I’m not in the mood for Delicious Meal #2 and want Delicious Meal #5 instead?!”). It helps that weekends are generally when we do our big shopping excursions (Pay Day Friday FTW) so I like to have a good shopping list in advance.

So, in the spirit of Making Food In My Kitchen, here is my planned list of tasties for this week:

Guinness Gingerbread Loaf (which, btw, I linked wrong in my last post. That cake looks awesome, but it’s not what I’m making. I’ve fixed it here.)

Georges’ Chili with Cheese Biscuits (I have NEVER made chili on my own, and I’ve never attempted biscuits before, so this should be interesting)

Homemade Meatball Sandwiches. The husband is OBSESSED with Subway Meatball subs. Like, would gladly eat them every day.

Baked Potato Soup. Cause, you know, I’m a Irish/Scottish/Ukrainian Canadian girl. I eat potato in EVERY form.

Jane’s Chicken wraps. You know, chicken strips, yummy cheese, lettuce, in a tortilla. YUM.

Wish me luck, dear readers. This home-cooked-meal thing is still VERY new to me. My plan is to maybe also start making a meal from my huge collection of recipe books. Wanna see?

Yeah, I should really start using them.

This week, the Gingerbread recipe comes from Nigella’s Kitchen cookbook. Which, btw, is AMAZING and full of delicious things. I’d also like to start using this more:

Mum's Cookbook

That is my Mum’s recipe book. In there is stuff she gathered from her Mum and her Mum before her. This is all of our family’s recipes. Everything I grew up eating.

For the first time, in my whole life, I’m excited about cooking. Excited about food. My next post might even be later tonight, once the gingerbread comes out of the oven. I’ll let you know how it went. So far, so good!

One thought on “The Noms

Leave a Reply

