I had all of these posts ready to go, pictures to share and recipes to rate. Unfortunately, estate stuff is not in a happy place so most of my attention has been diverted there, or really focused on not freaking out.

The weather this week seems appropriate. It’s nasty and cold, with a mean wind. During the middle of the day, sunshine starts to warm the air just a bit, just enough to promise that Spring is indeed on the horizon. This sort of weather drives most people inside and keeps us wrapped in layers while we’re out and about. It reminds me that while things can me hard, cold and awful, relief will come. Sometimes, it’s ok to snuggle up and surround yourself with people and things that keep you warm and safe until the cold passes.

I know Scientists will argue with me that they’ve already proven that this doesn’t really work, but I don’t care. Last night, for the first time in my life, had warm milk to help me sleep. I’ve been waking up several times each night, having difficulty falling back asleep and when I do sleep, having lots of nightmares. Last night I had a great bath with a bath bomb from my lovely Lady L, mistress of all things Lush. I then did some quick research on the best Warm Milk concoctions and came up with the following:

1. Fill your favourite microwave safe mug with the milk of your choice. Personally, I prefer 2%.

2. Add a tsp of vanilla extract. Please, for the love of all that is right and lovely in the world, use real vanilla EXTRACT. Not “flavouring” anything remotely artificial. Vanilla pod + vodka, baby. That’s what your vanilla should be all about! Stir.

3. Pop your mug in the microwave for about a minute/a minute 30.

4. Stir in a tsp of sugar (give or take a tsp), and sprinkle on some nutmeg.  Snuggle up somewhere comfortable, kitties recommended. Sip and enjoy.

It worked. It so worked. I still woke up once, but I was able to go right back to sleep and I woke up this morning feeling well rested. If anything, whether or not it has anything to do with actually helping you sleep, it’s about taking a few minutes out of your day for yourself. Doing something small to care for You. It’s a small little thing, but it’s enough to make a difference. <3

Take care of yourself, dear reader. You deserve it.

2 thoughts on “

  1. Well, scientists don’t know everything so to Valhalla with them! Ha! I’m so glad you are taking care to nurture yourself, I’m attempting to do the same. Estate stuff, wow. Don’t even know what to say except that you are loved and protected (I know you know) and the Universe is here to hold you while you move through this heart wrenching experience. I am too. Thank you for your kind words on my blog~

    ~Namaste~

    • Hear hear! :D

      It’s hard to take the time. It goes against what so many of us have been taught. It’s so worth it if we can manage the time though.

      Thank you so much for your support. I really and truly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

