Meme catch up!

Sorry to miss yesterday. I was on a professional development course at work all day, so I ended up no having any time at the computer.

day 03 – a song that makes you happy

There are many, but these two always puts a smile on my face:

Sister Kate, The Ditty Bops

Say Hey, Michael Franti & Spearhead

day 04 – a song that makes you sad

Hard Times, Eastmountainsouth. This is the song that I listened to after both my parents died. It’s from the Elizabethtown soundtrack (If you haven’t seen the movie, it’s basically about a man who has moved away from home to pursue a career and had distanced himself from his family. His father died, and he has to come home for the funeral. Throw in some romance, some complicated family dynamics and some really sweet touches, and you have a great but heartbreaking movie). Once Tracy and Lacy had arrived from Calgary, after Dad’s passing, I remember sitting down in Dad’s office. I put on this song, and we sang and cried together.

let us pause in life’s pleasures and count its many tears
while we all sup sorrow with the poor
there’s a song that will linger forever in our ears
oh, hard times come again no more

’tis a song… a sigh of the weary
hard times… hard times come again no more
many days you have lingered around my cabin door
oh… hard times come again no more

while we seek mirth and beauty
and music light and gay
there are frail ones fainting at the door
though their voices are silent
their pleading looks will say
oh, hard times come again no more

’tis a song… a sigh of the weary
hard times… hard times come again no more
many days you have lingered around my cabin door
oh, hard times come again no more

’tis a sigh that is wafted across the troubled wave
’tis a wail that is heard upon the shore
’tis a dirge that is murmured around the lowly grave
oh, hard times come again no more

’tis a song…a sigh of the weary
hard times… hard times come again no more
many days you have lingered around my cabin door
oh, hard times come again no more
oh, hard times come again no more

Cosmic Love, Florence and the Machine. This song is just so beautiful and heartbreaking to me. It makes me think of my Mum, as I listened to it a lot around her death. It also makes me think of Pat and I, and how he has gone right down into the darkness with me to get me through all of the crap that this past year has dumped on us.

A falling star fell from your heart and landed in my eyes
I screamed aloud, as it tore through them, and now it's left me blind

The stars, the moon, they have all been blown out
You left me in the dark
No dawn, no day, I'm always in this twilight
In the shadow of your heart

And in the dark, I can hear your heartbeat
I tried to find the sound
But then, it stopped, and I was in the darkness,
So darkness I became

The stars, the moon, they have all been blown out
You left me in the dark
No dawn, no day, I'm always in this twilight
In the shadow of your heart

I took the stars from my eyes, and then I made a map
And knew that somehow I could find my way back
Then I heard your heart beating, you were in the darkness too
So I stayed in the darkness with you

The stars, the moon, they have all been blown out
You left me in the dark
No dawn, no day, I'm always in this twilight
In the shadow of your heart

The stars, the moon, they have all been blown out
You left me in the dark
No dawn, no day, I'm always in this twilight
In the shadow of your heart 

And for the next meme, the Tuesday Daybook:

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): No more window for me! Let’s talk about the week past, shall we? I’ve been up and down, and lately, more so down. I’m trying to live my life according to my word, Acceptance, but it’s been very hard the last week.

I am thinking… about my plans, my friends and my family. I can’t wait for this estate stuff to be over so that we can move on. Also, I need spring. Now. I need the sun and the warmth. I need that comfort.

I am thankful for… Good friends and my husband. They have been able to calm me down, comfort me, make me laugh and get me back on track. This week, I’ve been especially thankful for my sister in law, Stacie. She and I have spent a lot of time together and she’s been a god send in helping me deal with everything that’s been going on.

From the kitchen… I haven’t been up to much in the kitchen lately, which is perhaps a sign that things haven’t been good. I did do some cooking with my SIL over the weekend which turned out great. We made a veggie casserole and some tasty pasta for the husband (Super easy stuff! Rotini whole wheat pasta, in a pre-made sundried tomato alfredo sauce, with chicken and thick cut bacon).

The neat thing I tried in the kitchen this week were chia seeds! I call them “Goo Seeds”, and am looking forward to including them in my diet. They have incredible health benefits and can easily be included in your day. (high in protein and omega 3s, has calcium, iron, fiber, antioxidants) The SIL showed me how they absorb water. It’s the coolest thing! One tsp in a cup of water and they just go to town! They absorb a ton of the water and form a gelatin like goo around themselves. More information on these seeds can be found here.

I am wearing… Nothing fancy today, but I recently picked up some great new clothes when I went shopping last week. Looking forward to more of a warm weather wardrobe.

I am creating… Nothing :(

I am going… no where, right now.

I am reading… A Fistful of Charms (some urban fantasy fluff, that I’m enjoying) and The Very Best of Charles de Lint.

I am hoping… that I have a good time tomorrow with my friend/ex.

I am hearing… A whole lot of BS. Yay for dramas!

Around the house…I’ve been trying to stay on top of cleaning, but it’s been an up-hill battle. I was away, then sick. Then Pat was sick. Now, we’re both too busy and tired to care.

One of my favorite things… Shopping with my SIL. Today we’re going to a little shop in one of my favourite parts of town. The shop is amazing and it’s been years since I’ve had the time to pop by. Can’t wait!

A few plans for the rest of the week: Wrapping up some estate business, shopping with the SIL, hanging out with my friend/ex, a bridal shower for a good friend, a trip to the spa for pedis with one of my beegirls, and a 30th birthday party for my cousin-in-law.

Here is picture for thought I am sharing…

EDIT:

I’m going to add this here, because it needs to be shared and this post is as good as any. I absolutely fucking love The Bloggess, and this just makes me adore her more.

Leave a Reply

