When the present hurts too much, look forward.

Today is one of those days that makes me want to stay home, hidden away in bed. It seems safer, tucked under layers of sheets and blankets, away from the world. Last night, an old friend of the family, the step-father of one of my oldest friends, passed away. He had been fighting cancer for a while, and while it is comforting to know that he is no longer in pain, my heart breaks for his family. I’ve been so distracted all morning, worrying about my friend and angry at the Powers That Be.

I’m currently distracting myself (and keeping myself from crying at work) by trying to think about happy unrelated things, including my upcoming first anniversary of marriage. Yay! I can’t believe it’s been nearly a year already! I’ve been pondering what to do. I know the traditional 1st year gift is paper, but aside from maybe getting each other books (not a bad option, considering. I just don’t know if it’s “special” enough), I just don’t know. I was thinking about stationary, but I don’t write nearly enough letters to warrant it, and Pat would never use it. I was then thinking about an address stamp, but we’re hoping to move in the next few years, so that wouldn’t be a wise investment.

I then started thinking that maybe we’ll celebrate it and not really do the present thing. We got married in a beautiful small town outside of Ottawa, and I think it might be nice to go there for a weekend, stay at a B&B and just disconnect for 48 hours. My friend, the one who’s step dad just passed, stayed a great B&B the night of our wedding and highly recommended it to us.

A picture from their website. Isnt it lovely?

What do you think? I’m a little concerned about the whole “shared bathroom” and common space thing that’s typical in a B&B, but there’s something so lovely about the idea of staying in a beautiful house in the town we were married in. Married folk, what did you do for your anniversary?

Also, I’m very excited about my upcoming trip to Calgary. I have to say, I was kind of expecting to be expecting by the time I left for this trip (we’ve known about this trip for a long time, it is my sister’s graduation after all), but I guess you can’t schedule everything. Life, death, bodies, unemployment and unexpected career changes have a funny way of changing plans. At least this way, I’ll be able to enjoy the hot springs at Banff. Yay :D Right now, Tracy and I are mostly just planning on keeping things simple. The plan thus far:

1. Meet her peeps. She’s settled down in Calgary and has a great group of people there. I am dying to meet them!

2. Visit Banff

3. Go out to one of the Calgary specific restaurants

4. Attend all graduation related events (Reception, convocation, party)

5. Hang out in our jammies, watch movies, and relax.

So looking forward to it :D

In other “Oooh shiny!” news, did anyone catch the Game of Thrones premiere?

I haven’t read the books (I’ve been warned that they aren’t my type of Fantasy. I prefer urban fantasy and have little patience for elaborate and complicated fictional worlds. I especially have a hard time with super political/military/name dropping fantasy), however I tend to have a much easier time following these stories when they are turned into movies or tv shows, so here I am! I was a little dismayed at the weird sibling love trend that was presented, but overall, I really enjoyed it. Looking forward to having such a beautiful and epic story to watch over the summer.

And with that, I have work to get back to.

6 thoughts on “When the present hurts too much, look forward.

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your friend’s father.

    About “Game of Thrones” – do you have HBO Canada? If not, how do you watch this show? I can’t find it outside of HBO/HBO Canada.

    cheers
    Ursa

  2. On the paper theme (I had no idea that was the traditional gift – ha! We didn’t do gifts), Steve and I started a tradition of one of us writing a letter to the other about all that happened over the past year. Since last year was our first anniversary, we went out to Chapters together and chose a beautiful journal where we can write the yearly letters. The other side of the tradition is that whoever isn’t writing the letter plans what we will do together that year to celebrate. But mostly what we realized on our first anniversary was that just taking the time to enjoy each other and appreciate what we have was what made the day special. Spending time in the setting you got married sounds like a perfect way to relive those giddy marriage-day feelings :)

    Calgary sounds like a blast! That is something to look forward to.

    I’ve been hearing about Game of Thrones but didn’t think it was my cup of tea either. But you’ve made the tv series sound appealing!

    *hugs* and condolences about your friend’s stepdad :(

    • That’s a beautiful idea! You and Steve are so great :D

      It was sooooo good! I’m definitely looking forward to the next time I visit my sister :)

      It’s really interesting! It’s certainly very dark, but it’s got a very interesting story.

      Thanks dear! *hug*

  3. I just got back from Calgary! It was my first visit (other than as a small child, which I don’t even really remember.) I wanted to get to Banff, but only made it as far as Canmore. The mountains were astonishing!! Hoping to road trip back up there this summer. I’m sure you’ll have a wonderful time! Enjoy :)

    I was actually up for my aunt’s funeral. If you wanna read a story about one strong ass woman that I am so so proud of, read this.

    http://www.calgarysun.com/2011/05/05/victim-rights-advocate-loses-cancer-battle

    • Small world! I had an amazing time! The mountains completely took my breath away. I can’t wait to go back :)

      Your aunt was an amazing woman! I’m so sorry for your loss. Thank you for sharing your aunt’s story with me :)

Leave a Reply

