Journeys

Sorry for disappearing my dear readers!

I am back from my fantastic trip out west to see my sister. It’s a sad thing to admit, but I haven’t seen much of my native country. Canada is just so damn big and so expensive to see. I had a brief visit to Calgary about 5 years ago when my cousin got married (I stopped in AB to visit my sister for a couple of days before heading with her to Regina for the wedding), though we were so busy that I really didn’t see much of the town.

Tracy, Mum and I at the wedding from that trip west

This time, I was honoured to attend her grad show and convocation! My little sister is all grown up now, and is one hell of a fiber  artist. I flew in on Saturday (which was a lovely flight. Super empty and quiet. Watched True Grit and my first episode of Dexter). We spent the first day and a half hanging out and wandering downtown.

Tracy and I, in her apartment

Monday we visited with my Aunt, Uncle and cousins, which was lovely. Some of them I haven’t seen in 7 years. Tuesday we did more running around and I was finally able to meet my sister’s best friend, Phil, his lovely wife, Kristy, and the amazing Drea at The Old Spaghetti Factory.

Wednesday was the grad show, Thursday the convocation.

Friday was my first ever trip to Banff. I am completely smitten by the mountains!

Me, in Banff

We did some wandering around, shopping, eating and then hit the hot spring. After an hour or two of relaxing, she treated me to an amazing meal at The Grizzly House.

Tracy and Fondue <3

My family, we love fondue. It was so damn good! 

Saturday, we survived the rapture and then I flew home (despite the Calgary airport being without power, I made it to Ottawa only a couple of minutes late, with luggage this time).  There was a lot of great conversations, many laughs, some great shopping, I met lots of great people and ate lots of amazing food. I also discovered my new favourite wine.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All in all, while I missed my husband, our critters and my friends, I am sad to be back to the real world. I don’t feel at all prepared to be back into the swing of things. Guess I gotta just keep on going, right? Now, to plan a baby shower, be a Maid of Honour and wrap up an estate.

4 thoughts on “Journeys

  1. You and your sister are such beauties!! So awesome to have some lady time with a family member who loves and supports you :) Glad to hear it was a good time.
    And hey, you went on a trip and didn’t get sick!!! :D

    • Thank you so much! :) It was amazing and exactly what I needed :D

      WOOOOOOOOO! There was a day where I was feeling a little under the weather, but my sister gave me a ton of Vitamin C and we caught up on some rest so I killed it dead :D

Leave a Reply

