A Happy Anniversary

I can’t believe it’s already been one whole year since I walked down the aisle and vowed the love of my life that I would  love and respect him, be honest with him always and stand by him through whatever may come. I pledged him my love and respect, my laughter and my tears. With all that I am, I honoured him.

Pat and I met when I was quite young. We can’t remember exactly when, but we think it was a mutual friend’s 16th birthday party, which would put me at 15, and Pat at 18. He was my best friend’s best guy friend. From there, we saw much more of each other at parties and gatherings, though we were both in other relationships. A few years later, I realized I was head over heels for him and started flirting shamelessly, despite his long term relationship with a friend of mine (I know, I know. I’m wiser and kinder now). It didn’t take long for her to force him to cut ties with me, but luckily, that didn’t last too long either. A few months later, he was having relationship trouble and I had just been dumped for a friend, and we started hanging out. We would talk for hours, see movies together and were quickly becoming more than friends. On March 18th 2001, after being dumped by his girlfriend (and discovering that she had been with someone else for months), he asked me to be his girlfriend. A few months later, when my birthday rolled around, he was surprised to discover that I was the same age as his younger brother. He had assumed I was the same age as the rest of his friends in the group.

The next few years, he was my highschool sweetheart. He attended prom with me, and my graduation. We stayed together despite lots of ups and downs. In University, the stress of ill parents and tight schedules caused us to break up. While apart for a year, we saw other people and remained good friends. Finally, near his birthday I confessed to him that I was still in love with him and needed him back (while he was with someone else. I know, I know, I’m a hoebag. What can I say? I was in love with the guy). He wasn’t sure that we could ever fix the issues we had, so he decided to stay with his girlfriend. A few months later, after his fling dissolved away, he came back to his senses and asked me to be his girlfriend again.

We were better than we had ever been. A few years later, in 2006, he bought a house and asked me to move in with him. Two years after that, in that home, in our family room on an ordinary day in November 2008, he asked me to marry him. (in fact, he asked me to marry him as his birthday gift. Heh).

Two years after that, on June 26th, 2010, I did. (Despite several attempts to delete it, our wedding page still exists if you want to check it out.)

We’ve survived the death of his father and grandmother, and my parents. We’ve survived our immediate families falling apart and losing all of our best friends. We’ve survived starting over, unemployment, an apartment fire, dogs, cats and snakes. We’ve survived majorly bad decisions on both parts. We’ve survived heartbreak, loneliness, depression, anger and anxiety. We’ve flourished, found strength in each other and discovered that we love each other more than we ever thought we could love another.

I am complete with him. I know that, no matter what happens, I will have a home and a family, so long as I am with him.

I love you, babe. More than you could ever know.

9 thoughts on “A Happy Anniversary

  1. *booooohooooo* damn, girl, i am crying over here! you guys make me happy to know you, every day :D as i said in my wedding speech, “you cannot help but be drawn into their orbit–like any couple who are generous, kind, loving and vivacious, they have a sort of gravitational pull. You are immediately swept into their hospitality, their sensitivity, their warmth. Even in the darkest moments of their lives, I have never once feared for them, because I know they have one another, each to each a guiding light.”
    luvs to you both! xoxox

  2. Congrats! It was nice to read your story and I’m happy you found each other, knew you were right, and didn’t let go.

    Random question… I don’t comment on any other wordpress blogs, so not sure if it’s like at blogspot, where my comments automatically provide you a link back to mine?

      • Hrm indeed! Well I’d love it if you’d like to visit mine! (I am a bit behind though as I have been away and haven’t had computer access for a week now.)
        http://summertimedreams.blogspot.com/
        That sucks that it doesn’t automatically post a link, I didn’t realize. Now I’m wondering how weird it must have been to have this random person commenting on your blog, and you can’t even go see a little of what they’re about.

Leave a Reply

