Summer amusements

I’ve noticed a few people in the blogosphere comment on how crazy and short this summer seems to be. Honestly, I have to agree. I feel like it’s flying by and it’s all that I can do to keep standing. I’ve been struggling with the delay to the estate (we’re looking at 2012 at this point before it’s closed), which is leaving me feeling gutted and exhausted. I’m trying to stay motivated, but it’s been hard.

I have had a few really fun distractions though, in the form of new books and tv shows. I’m currently reading the third book in the Hunger Games series. I’ve been devouring these books (I started book one on Tuesday, averaging one book a day). Taking them in in big gulps. I don’t know what I’ll do when I finish this third one. I’ve heard whispers of the fourth coming out this year, but I’m not sure.

The other series that I’m enjoying has been a big “Well Duh” in the entertainment world lately: Game of Thrones/Song of Ice and Fire. It’s funny because I was specifically told “Oh, you’ll hate that series. It’s all names and military tactics.” Which, in a way is very true. It’s all families and wars. Normally, I absolutely hate these really dry overly detailed fantasy books that are just full of names and politics. I just can’t care, you know? I need emotion. I need a social history, rather than a military and political tome. Even more so, I am not huge on traditional fantasy. Urban Fantasy has my heart. I need that balance of reality and the fantastical. This series seems to find that perfect balance for me. I can actually follow these families, the battles they fight and give a damn about it. I’m only just finished the second book, and can’t wait to start the third. I plan on picking it up before a cottage weekend that’s approaching.

For TV Shows, I’ve been really behind the times. My sister got me watching Dr. Who when I was visiting her in Calgary and I got hooked. I came home and immediately demanded that Pat watch it with me. We’re just about done season 1. (Don’t worry, I got back at Tracy by introducing her to Supernatural. Bwahahaha.).

You never forget your first doctor <3

The next one is the fault of Pat’s cousins, Cara and Dalton. They kept talking about this show. I asked my BiL about it and he demanded that we see it. What is it? Dexter. Yep, we’re completely into it now. We’re in the middle of season 2.

So, you can imagine just how exciting our lives have been lately. Lots of books and DVDs for us. Then again, it is summer time so that sounds about right.

I’ve also been spending some time figuring out the brand new Google Plus. I’m not sure that this will ever replace facebook for me, but it’s definitely been an interesting alternative. What it looks like for me (click to embiggen):

The one thing I will say is that I really hope the mobile site improves. I don’t like that I can’t seem to post pictures from my iPhone like I can on facebook. Big deterrent for me. Also? Would definitely prefer an app to a mobile page.  If you’re on too, feel free to add me: gplus.to/maevankat

Oh! I’ve updated my links here. Took out dead pages and added a bunch. If you don’t see yourself, feel free to leave me a comment and I’ll check out your page :D

And with that last note, I should go. Only a few minutes left in the work day and I still have some things to get done :)

2 thoughts on “Summer amusements

  1. I’ve heard great things about Hunger Games…even though it is technically YA. I need to put them on my To Be Read list! I actually watched the 1st episode of Game of Thrones on the TV (kicking myself for not having read it first) and then decided it wasn’t for me anyway.

Leave a Reply

