One of those days

Yesterday was just one of those days.

Yesterday marked my shift into part time hours. Working at the college as part time support staff, I work full time hours for the busy portion of the school year and then once things calm down, I drop down to 24 hours a week. For me, that translates to 9:15-4pm, Monday through Thursday.

I woke up way earlier than I needed to, unsure about my bus routes. I got on a new bus, unsure about how long it would take to get me to the college (my usual bus doesn’t run that late), and ended up arriving at the college about an hour early for my shift. Sigh. So, I decided to walk over to a near by coffee shop to kill some time. I noticed I was getting some funny looks on this walk, so I stopped and took a look at myself. Apparently, while on the bus, I had rested my purse on my lap. I was wearing black capris and managed to put what was the equivalent of an adult cat in fur all over my thighs. Sigh. So, I did my best to remove what I could and kept on my way.

When I arrived at my office, about 15 minutes early, I discovered that my co-worker was home sick. I could have come straight up, rather than kill time (and spend money) at the coffee shop. Morning came and went. I started to notice my top wasn’t the best shirt for an office environment. I kept inappropriately flashing too much boob to the office. I guess my weight gain went to my cup size because the shirt used to fit much better last time I wore it. I spent the rest of the morning adjusting my clothes and being really self conscious about it.

This is the top. This picture taken a couple years ago

I wasn’t able to take a lunch, as I had no coverage, so I ate at my desk. My sauce covered pasta dish wasn’t very appetizing, but I made due. Unfortunately, I also managed to drop half of it on to those black furry capris and my bright green top. Siiiiigh. Because of the lack of coverage, I couldn’t just run to the bathroom, so I did what I could with my water bottle and the nearby paper towel. Unfortunately, neither were much help and I ended up with bits of paper towel attached to my saucy furry pants.

Yeah, it was one of those days.  Today, I’m focusing on our cottage trip this weekend and our plans with S&K to see Harry Potter on Sunday. Tonight we are hoping to do some housework (seeing as how I was too wrecked this past weekend to accomplish anything) and get laundry going so that it’s taken care of before we leave. Tomorrow we do our errands and grocery shopping. Friday, we leave for Sharbot Lake for Pat’s work wife’s family cottage.

Sunday, once we’re home, we’re going out to see the last Harry Potter flick with S&K. It’s also going to be one of the last times we can hang out with S&K sans baby boy, who is due to arrive shortly afterwards.  It’s going to be a good weekend.

I’m debating bringing some knitting with me for the weekend. It’s been so hot and humid that I’ve been avoiding my crafting. I just can’t imagine handling wool right now. I do need to pick up some books to keep me busy (I’m thinking the rest of the George RR Martin books). What are your camping and cottaging essentials? Either way, I look forward to doing a whole lot of nothing, with near by access to a cold lake <3

Do you have any plans for the weekend? How do you beat the heat?

Leave a Reply

