Hot Headed

It’s been a rough week in Heatherland. I’m not entirely sure why, but I have been in one heck of a funk. My patience is thin, I’m irritable and I just want to hide under my desk at work. Poor Pat has been taking the brunt of it (though I think one of my triggers is his return to WoW). The house is a disaster, I feel overwhelmed by everything. Luckily, it’s a long weekend thanks to a civic holiday on Monday, so I’m facing my last work day of the week and comforting myself by dressing sort of schlumpy and wearing the beautiful necklace my sister got me for my birthday:

Sorry for the grainy picture. iPhone doesn't like mornings either.

A better short of the necklace from a week ago

A couple of nights ago I decided to try to comfort myself with a Sutherland family recipe, Baked Spaghetti (a complete misnomer, btw. Never has this recipe included Spaghetti. It’s always been macaroni, but we’ve never called it anything else). The recipe was brought to us by my father’s son’s ex-wife (did you catch all of that?). Once upon a time, when my sister and I were still in our preteens, we lived in a very busy house. Both my Dad’s sons had moved in with us, with their wives, who were both super pregnant at the time. So, at one point we had my Mum, my dad, my dad’s two sons, their wives, their kids, my sister and me, as well as a dog, and four cats. (A total of  6 adults, 2 preteens and 2 infants on your average day). This was pretty overwhelming for my poor Mum who was used to our tidy little family of four. Luckily, this recipe was introduced and quickly became a family favourite. I would specifically request it for birthday dinners, special events or when I had a bunch of friends over.  It’s stupid easy and really adaptable. I mentioned making this to Pat over the weekend and on Monday I told him we needed to buy some things before it could happen. Tuesday he came home and accounced we had to go shopping RIGHT AWAY because he was desperate for it and had been thinking about it since Saturday.

The Sutherland Family Baked “Spaghetti”

What you need:

  • Lean ground beef (I ususally use about 1/2 lbs, but this is up to you)
  • Shredded cheddar cheese. Again, use whatever cheese you like. I normally add a bunch of parmesean as well. I normally use about 2 cups.
  • A jar of Pasta Sauce (whatever floats your boat. We used a Healthy Choice veggie sauce this time)
  • Cream of mushroom soup (or use a cream based sauce, like an alfredo sauce, to cream up the flavour without dipping into the campbells world)
  • 1 onion
  • Whatever other veg you want (Mum recommended mushrooms, but my husband hates them so I tend to exclude them)
  • A box of macaroni (we use whole wheat)
  • A couple cloves of garlic

1. Preheat your oven to 300F.

2. Fill a pot with water, bring to a boil.  Once boiling, add macaroni and cook until al dente. While your water is warming to a boil, brown your meat. (Heather Tip: I always add cinnamon to my ground beef. It gives it a deeper flavour that I enjoy)

3. Add your garlic and onion to your meat before it is completely brown. You want them soft, but not too coloured.  Same goes for your veg. If you’re not using lean meat, I recommend cooking the onion and garlic in a separate pan so that you can drain your meat. Add them to the meat once you’ve strained it.

4. Once your meat, onions, and garlic are done, add your pasta sauce. Mix.

5. Add your cooked noodles to a big ass pan/casserole dish. Mix in your cream of mushroom/heavy cream sauce until well blended. Mix in your meat sauce.

6. Mix in a cup of cheese. Once mixed, top with your remaining cheese.

7. Cook in the oven for 30-40 min.

Sorry I don’t have a completed picture. We were both too hungry to keep from eating it when it came out of the oven. This recipe will feed a giant family, and is easily customizable to make more or less. This batch fed us for dinner, lunch and dinner (keeping my mind my husband who is currently very active and thus VERY HUNGRY).

The rest of my week has continued to be pretty meh. Last night I worked on our wedding photobook (which is about 80% done now) and then watched the most recent episode of True Blood (no spoilers, but YES FINALLY OMG and I need a lost puppy viking in my basement fo sho).

The plan for this weekend is to clean, finish up the photo book, finish reading Storm of Swords (OMG! STUPID STARKS! LISTEN TO YOUR WOLVES!), see my new nephew and visit with my BFF S and hopefully go on a date with the husband.  I’mtrying to get myself back on the crafting train, but it’s been hard. I’ve had zero motivation (and the lack of A/C doesn’t help. I don’t want to be anywhere near anything with any wool content when it’s 30C in my house). Any tips to get back to my hobbies? I’m seriously considering knitting socks, but so far it hasn’t inspired me to pick up the needles. Anyway, happy weekend everyone! Hope you all have a great one!

4 thoughts on “Hot Headed

  1. That IS a beautiful necklace!

    Recently my bff who lives in another city and I tried to revitalize our creative spirit by meeting every week to discuss our creative endeavours – we’ll celebrate the breakthroughs and bemoan the procrastination or hiccups together. We only just decided to do this when we skyped on Tuesday so we’ll see how it goes but it’s definitely fueling us in the beginning. Anyone you can do that with? Like your sister?

    Also, we should definitely do that rain check crafting date!

  2. Wow, I thought 1999 was bad at my house – my parents, my fiance and I, my pregnant sister and her husband (and eventually their daughter) all in one small 3 bedroom house that was really only set up for three people. Three more people than that? Whew!

Leave a Reply

