A beautiful long weekend

I’ve been looking forward to this weekend for a while now. With my reduced hours at work (which continue into december), I have an extra long long weekend. This past week of my pregnancy has been interesting. I’ve been on edge, but hopeful. Nausea is back, but so is my desire to eat things that aren’t bread/potato/pasta related, which is a massive relief. I’m actually getting sick of carbs. i want some veggies! Some meat! Some variety! Unfortunately, with this week comes intense headaches and nightmares.

This weekend we have a lot of good stuff going on. Friday was my cleaning, relaxing and prep day. Pat and I had date plans! (Oooo! We haven’t been on a date in a long damn time. Saw the new Jason Stratham movie. Surprisingly good) Saturday, we we’re off to the in-laws for Thanksgiving dinner. We had a lovely time! My SIL, Kina, did a fantastic job of the meal and we all had a great time hanging out.  Sunday we went going Apple Picking with Nana Jan and Cathy (and the girls from the wonderful family that I’ve adopted. Pat’s best friend, Jan, has been a huge support to me the last couple of years). Monday was basically a laze about day, mostly with video games and left overs.

One of my favourite things about thanksgiving, or any major family meal, is the dish that I made and brought to the dinner on Saturday. As you all know, it’s been a tough couple of years for my family. Pat and I try to keep traditions from both of our pasts alive as we move forward together. One of those traditions is a simple casserole dish that was present at every Sutherland family gathering for the last 10 years or so. I think it was introduced by my Dad’s daughter, Kim, at Christmas one year. Or maybe it was easter. Either way, it was a complete hit and became a staple right away. It is always a sneaky way to get non-veg lovers to get just a tiny bit on their plates (yes, it’s kind of a lie. The veg is practically bathing in cheese and cream. At least it’s still veg). It’s also one of the very few dishes that I’ve brought to mixed family events that everyone seems to enjoy (well, mostly everyone). Coming from a strange background, I have some dishes that are best left to…well…me. I’ve recently discovered that not even my little sister likes some of the Ukrainian dishes we’ve grown up with. Don’t worry Mum, I’ll keep eating those Latkes and cabbage rolls. Even if its all by my lonesome (Pat prefers his potatoes in non-pancake form, and will eat only the rice filing for the cabbage rolls. Before it comes in contact with cabbage.)

So, here’s a page from my well loved and very abused personal cook book that my Mum put together for me:

The inside cover of my recipe book <3

Mum's actual entry for this recipe <3

The Sutherland Family Veggie Casserole

Ingredients

  • 2 cups fresh broccoli
  • 2 cups fresh cauliflower
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1 medium onion finely chopped
  • 1 10oz can of Cream of Whatever Soup (traditionally, we use mushroom)
  • 1 cup grated cheese (usually cheddar)
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1 pkg croutons, crushed

1. Cook veggies in salted boiling water for 5 minutes. Spread evenly in 8 x 12 buttered casserole pan

Boiling broc and cauli

2. Beat eggs. Combine with mayo, onions, soup and 1/2 cup cheese

All mixed

3. Pour mix over veggies. Sprinkle remaining cheese over top

Just needs butter and crunch!

4. Pour over – melted butter. Sprinkle crushed croutons on top

5. Bake for 350 F for 40 min.

Source: Dad’s daughter Kim, and most likely from the back of a Campbell’s Soup Can. Who knows.

Make it your own! Add whatever veg you like, whatever soup/cream sauce you want, change up the cheese and go to town!

Note: My changes this time around – I used 1/2 an onion, a mix of mozz and cheddar, 1/2 fat cream of mushroom soup and I used panko crumbs instead of croutons.

As it turns out, it was a massive hit on Saturday with no leftovers for me at all. Lucky for me, I have the fixins for Part 2 at home. Veggie Casserole for dinner one night? I think so! For my fellow Canadians, I hope the long weekend treated you well! For everyone else, take care and have a great one!

Leave a Reply

