Tuesday Update

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): Since last post, it’s still been up and down. I took a day off last wednesday to calm my nerves, but I ended up with my expensive iphone falling in a sink full of water followed by some more estate drama.  Luckily the weekend brought some much needed relief. I spent time with S and her kids, my in-laws. I cooked. I rested. It was lovely. This week has been intense.

How far along am I? Depending on who you ask, but I’m going with 16 weeks, as of yesterday.

I am thinking… a lot. Dreaming and plotting for baby, considering our options, what we need, what we want, etc… Thinking about family and loss, and how life will be without our parents to help us. Plotting the nursery, for sure!

I am thankful for… the freedom that my job gives me to have MANY snacks throughout the day. It saves me. Also? My circle of family and friends. I feel so supported and loved.

From the kitchen… Some plans this week to cook more than usual. On the menu? Yesterday was brocolli and cheese stuffed chicken, I’m going to try for shepards pie tonight. I also have plans for crock-pot lasagna.

I am wearing…Maternity clothes! I definitely shopped the sales racks at Thyme to find some pants for work and play. I had been lucky thus far that I had my SIL’s mat clothes, but now that SHE’S ALSO PREGGO EEEEEEEEEEEE she needed her clothes back. So, I picked up a pair of jeans and some work pants.

I am creating… A toque for the hubby, and not much else. Been thinking about getting back to my art journal that I started forever ago. Plotting baby projects (another post to come)

I am going… to have a contractor in this week to give us an estimate on work that needs to be done at the house.

I am reading… The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss (SO GOOD) and The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth by Henci Goer

I am hoping… that our renos will be started soon so that we can start prepping for baby!

I am hearing… The new Tori album, and lots of Neko Case.

Around the house…Purging is the name of the game. We’re donating some clothes this week.

One of my favorite things…The apples we got from the orchard in Mountain. We’re still working through them and they are all SUPER delicious. Yay for local produce!

A few plans for the rest of the week: Working on the house.
Weight Gain: About a week ago, I would have said 6lbs, but then I lost some weight so last I checked, it was 2lbs.
Baby in the Produce World: This week the wee one is an avacado.
Movement/Signs o’ Baby: Nothing yet, but I’m looking forward to it starting :)
Cravings and Aversions: Cravings: Chocolate milk. Aversions: Pork chops
Body Changes/Weirdness: My boobs have gone through several major changes. Also, varicose veins ahoy! Otherwise, not much. No stretch marks, belly button is still an innie and I can still wear my wedding rings.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: Naming your future child is HARD.  Also, this is so heartbreaking and yet beautiful. I just can’t relate to thinking that way about a child.

Leave a Reply

