Tuesday Update

Week 17

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): Last week was a tough week, sandwiched between two periods of awesome. It started with the best customer service I’ve ever had, thanks to the Apple store in the Rideau Center. They completely replaced my water damaged iPhone 4 with a brand new one! I couldn’t believe it! And all because we were honest about what happened :) Then we had Halloween (which was date night for us. We went out to see the new Justin Timberlake movie, which was a nice distracting action movie with some incredibly attractive actors) and ended with a wonderful weekend (including some decluttering, spending time with friends and relaxing). The good definitely outweighed the bad.

How far along am I? 18 weeks, 1 day.

I am thinking… About the nursery, about how to share family photos, about the house and managing our finances.

I am thankful for… my friends <3

From the kitchen… We hosted dinner at our place for the first time in a loooooong time this past weekend. S, K and their baby, E, joined us on Saturday for baked pasta, garlic toast, and salad. We had a lovely time.

I am wearing…Maternity clothes from the lovely S! She gifted me with all of her office stuff from her last two pregnancies. They are LOVELY and fit me perfectly.

I am creating… A toque for the hubby, still. *hangs head in shame*

I am going… to continue working on the house this week and figure out what I want to do with my websites. You see, I used to own a domain (maevan.com). I also inherited my Dad’s family page (suth.org). I’m thinking about combining the two and hosting this page there, as well as a general family page. I want to host a bunch of family pictures I have (my Mum and her family growing up, my Dad growing up, my sister and I), but I’m not sure how yet.

I am reading… Dreams Underfoot, by Charles de Lint. One of my all time favourite books. I reread it at least once a year.  Also, my lovely friend Kit gave me a new pregnancy book that I’m loving. It really breaks down the pregnancy week by week, and is written in Canada, for Canadians. I can’t remember the name, but I’ll share it once I check at home.

I am hoping… that our renos will be started soon so that we can start prepping for baby! Also, I am hoping baby is safe and sound. We have our next midwife and ultrasound next week.

I am hearing… The new Florence and the Machine album. I’m a little torn. I LOVE some of the tracks, but others are very meh for me.

Around the house…Purging is the name of the game. This past week I went through boxes and boxes of family photos from my Mum, Dad and our combined families. So many photos!

One of my favorite things…My husband. He’s decided to join with the Movemeber movement. We haven’t taken any photos yet, but you can see his progress here.

A few plans for the rest of the week: More house work, some laundry, getting my flu shot, looking into website stuff.
Weight Gain: Total, about 6lbs.
Baby in the Produce World: Last week we were an onion, this week we’re a sweet potato.
Movement/Signs of the Baby: We actually had our first experience with movement on Saturday! Right after S, K and E left for the night, we were lounging on the couch when Pat poked my bellybutton. Right away I felt a weird…fluttering/bubbly/fish swimming feeling across my belly! I had some more fluttering bubbly fishie feeling yesterday during dinner as well.
Cravings and Aversions: Cravings:  Chocolate milk stands (my guess is that it’s the calcium, the tummy calming, and the magnesium). The weirdest addition is my sudden love of hot sauce. You see, I’m not a spice lover. I adore flavour, but not burn. I don’t like my food to fight back. All of a sudden, I am NEEDING Frank’s Red Hot Thick sauce on my plate for dipping for every meal. Also? Pineapple juice and avocados . Aversions: Pork chops, ground beef. What else grosses me out? The smell of garbage, cigarette smoke and coffee mouth (You know, after someone has a Tim Horton’s coffee, that sour coffee smell? UGH)
Body Changes/Weirdness: The belly continues to grow, and with it’s growth – ITCHY! Same goes for The Girls, which is much less appropriate to scratch in public. Also, it’s getting much harder for me to tie my shoes and bend over. Sleep isn’t going well, because I tend to toss and turn.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: We’re currently debating attachment parenting. I am very pro, however the hubby is very much not. Same goes for cloth diapering. Not sure how we’re going to resolve this.
Other pictures from the 17th week:

Happy Halloween!

Happy Halloween! I made this shirt with a decal from Etsy and a shirt from Old Navy

Another Week 17 shot

Leave a Reply

