Tuesday Update – Week 19

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): Week 19 was a  busy week! There was estate drama, family drama, work drama and some great news at the end of the week. Lots of highs and lows.

How far along am I? 20 weeks, 1 day.

I am thinking… about our big news. We’ve found out that we’re having A BOY! He is not shy in the least and made sure we had a nice good look at his goods. So, I’m wrapping my brain about having a son and how this makes him seem far more real to me now.

I am thankful for… modern technology that allows me to see my baby boy and hear his heart beat.

From the kitchen… Lots of cooking this week! I made my mother’s egg pie/crustless quiche, which was a massive hit. I also made another veggie Casserole for our friends’ Late/Fake Thanksgiving dinner party on Saturday.

I am wearing…bigger and bigger things. I’m almost out of my first couple of mat pants.

I am creating… Nothing right now. However, I have grand plans for baby knitting. Apparently, I want my little man to look like a tiny grandpa:

Probably as a first baby sweater for newborn? Yoda Sweater

My favourite of the bunch. Gramps, most likely in 6+ size for the fall

Tweeduboy, a lovely cabled sweater. Perhaps as a 0-3mo sweater?

A great cabled cardi. Another 6mo+

I am going… to meet with the estate lawyer this afternoon. Hopefully it’ll be a big step towards being done with this. Also, we’re having renos start some time in January, so we’re moving forward.

I am reading… Dreams Underfoot, by Charles de Lint. Darkfever, by Karen Marie Moning, as recommended by Felicia Day and American Rose.

I am hoping… that everything goes well with the lawyer and that we can start moving on with our lives.

I am hearing… Rockabye Baby mixes. What? I have to preview these things, right? (PS, Right now I’m LOVING them)

Around the house…Planning, plotting and estate stuff.

One of my favorite things…My snoogle. Seriously, I’m sleeping sometimes. This is a big improvement over almost never. Also? Prenatal yoga. I am trying to do it at home 3 times a week using this DVD. It is making a huge difference in my flexibility and my activity level.

A few plans for the rest of the week: Lawyer tonight, followed by catching up with one of my oldest friends, Tyler. Hopefully crock-pot lasagna tomorrow, and relaxing & cleaning this weekend.
Weight Gain: Total, about 9lbs. All of a sudden I gained 3lbs this week. Still within the normal and healthy range, so yay!
Baby in the Produce World: Last week we were a mango, this week we’re a cantaloupe! That explains why I feel huge, sore and tight.
Movement/Signs of the Baby: Definitely lots more movement and flutters. The u/s showed a baby boy who was kicking and punching, so I think we definitely have an active little one. Otherwise, I’m getting GIANT, all over the place. Also? I’m huffing and puffing, and feel like I have more in my chest than I’m used to. With a cantaloupe in my belly, I can’t say I’m surprised.
Cravings and Aversions: Cravings:  Avacados, quiche, milk and cookies.  Aversions: Fried eggs, some pastas. What else grosses me out? The smell of garbage, cigarette smoke and coffee mouth (You know, after someone has a Tim Horton’s coffee, that sour coffee smell? UGH)
Body Changes/Weirdness: As I mentioned up there, I’m getting giant. Some stretch marks on the girls, but not anywhere else (I have one on my right hip, but that’s it). I’m itchy all over, and my mat pants are getting tight around the belly.  Lots of random digestion issues. Also? Eczema and rashes are attacking with full force. I’ve been unable to wear my wedding rings because of a bad rash that’s developed underneath and beside them.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: As I mentioned, baby is definitely A BOY! We’ve chosen his name and are making plans for his room and his arrival. Introducing the little man himself:

Baby Liam

It’s been strange, knowing the gender. I mean, obviously it’s great and exciting, however there are some surprising feelings as well. One, I hadn’t anticipated the slight let-down following sharing the news. It’s really one of the last big baby events before baby himself arrives (and the shower, which is in February). I just can’t believe we’re already half way through and that we know we’re having a little man. We’re sort of on the decline now, in terms of excitement and big news in the baby domain. The other thing is that Liam seems like so much more of a person now! I can actually start planning, shopping and taking action to welcome this little person into our lives. When we didn’t know, there was always this potential of either boy or girl, so we couldn’t really commit to any name, any dreams or expectations. Now, we can actually picture what life will be like and start making decisions. It’s so strange!
Other pictures from the 19th week:

19 weeks, 1 day

19 weeks, 4 days

Liam's profile. He reminds me of an alien or world of warcraft creature.

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Update – Week 19

Leave a Reply

