Fun times. So, yesterday afternoon I had my first (that I actually recognized) Braxton Hicks contraction (BHC). This on its own is totally normal for anyone past 20 weeks, so long as you don’t have a whole ton of them. What wasn’t entirely normal was the tummy pain/discomfort I had for the next 8 hours or so. After talking to one of my amazing midwives, I’ve been reassured that I’m doing ok. I just have to keep myself de-stressed and well hydrated. Basically, dehydration and stress are two of the main causes for BHC, which pretty much summarizes my day yesterday. I was working overtime (my co-worker had an appointment, so I had to cover the desk) and because we’re under staffed right now (everyone seems to be sick right now), I was running around more than usual and not drinking as much as I normally do.

To add to that, I have the joyful addition of indigestion/heartburn to add to the mix, and stress related tummy troubles. I’m doing ok today, with only some discomfort and tightness. I’ve been given strict instructions not to overdo it at work, no more overtime today and I have to take all my breaks. Unfortunately, my co-worker has gone home sick, so I’m leaving the department in a bit of a lurch. Oh well, not much I can do about it.

While all of that excitement was going on, I forgot to post about my first published blog post! I finally submitted my first posting to the Ottawa Mommy Club Mommy Bloggers, and it was published yesterday. It’s not perfect, but it’s mine. For those that want to follow my parenting/pregnancy related posts there, you can find my page here.  This posting is about the difficulties new parents face in the information age.

So, no worries! I’m doing ok, and am very proud of my first published piece.  Now I just need to figure out how to not over do it while cleaning the house tomorrow, and registering for baby stuff on Saturday. Weee!

3 thoughts on “

  1. Work sounds pretty stressful indeed. I hope you’re able to destress and relax. Sending calming thoughts your way!

    Great article over at Ottawa Mommy Club Mommy Bloggers! That’s awesome! Another book I’d recommend, although it’s U.S.-centric is “Creating Your Birth Plan: the definitive guide to a safe and empowering birth” by Marsden Wagner, M.D., M.S. – it sounds like it’s just about creating a birth plan but it actually really gets into the various options (hospital vs. home birth; obgyn vs. midwife etc) in a very detailed and useful way.

    • I talked to a few of the girls at work and seem to have most of them supporting me and aware of the situation, so that’s a bonus.

      Oooh, thanks for the heads up! I’ll definitely check that out.

Leave a Reply

