Tuesday Update: 23 Weeks

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): It’s been a strange and busy week 23 for me! Lots of Christmas/Holiday parties, lots of baking, cleaning and time with friends and family.

How far along am I? 24 weeks, 1 day.

I am thinking… about our holiday and renovation plans.

I am thankful for… all the tasty treats that are at the office lately! Chocolate everywhere!

From the kitchen… Lots, but mostly cookies. This week I tried baking gingerbread for the first time (Ginger cookies from Bridgehead is one of my all time favourite things in the world, so I had to give it a shot) and was really happy with the results. I used this recipe. I also made mint brownies again (made them the year before last), and unbaked cookies/frogs/haystacks/macaroons. I will be sharing the family recipe for the unbaked cookies in the next couple of days, so keep an eye out.

Unbaked cookies, setting.

I am wearing…Same ol’, same ol’. Hoping to pick up some new sweaters and shirts for myself soon, as I’m quickly growing out of EVERYTHING. Liam is apparently ginourmous.

I am creating… lots of baked goods and another post for the Ottawa Mommies. (post should be up soon)

I am going… enjoy my time off. The college is closed for the holidays so I get a week off (sadly, unpaid). We’re planning on resting and decluttering. Hopefully we’ll get the basement done in prep for the renos!

I am reading… Some baby books (namely re-reading The Baby Book by the Sears family) and The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin, as well as rereading one of my favourites: Outlander. Don’t judge me. Those books are AWESOME.

I am hoping… for some luck. I may have had a job interview today for a full time permanent position on campus!

I am hearing… Nothing new, really. Listening to a lot of holiday music. Namely, the Michael Buble Christmas album.

Around the house…Nothing new, yet.

One of my favorite things…An appreciative audience when I provide baked goods :D

Weight Gain: about 10 lbs, though I haven’t checked in a while.
Baby in the Produce World: Last week we were a papaya, this week we remain the same. Odd.
Movement/Signs of the Baby: Lots and lots of movement! Liam actually kicked so hard he moved my arm this week! Also, at our office Christmas party yesterday, the guy sitting next to me on the squishy couch got kicked by my little man :D
Cravings and Aversions: Same old, really. Lots of sweets and chocolate.  Quiche? Aversions: Not so much an aversion, but I’ve discovered that all those gassy foods are KILLER to me now,  so I’m having to avoid all of my favourite veg :(
Body Changes/Weirdness: This week (week 23) I started noticing pain in my pelvic area really wasn’t going away. In fact, it was getting worse. I did some research and will be talking to my midwives about it asap. I think I may have symphysis pubis dysfunction (aka SPD, more info here). Sounds like I have to ramp up my prenatal yoga efforts.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: I got to spend time with a beautiful 10 month old boy at a potluck this weekend and it made me SO EXCITED to get to know my little man and to see his personality develop. Cannot wait!
Other Pictures from this Week:

23 weeks, 4 days. Sudden belly pop!

Big Belly goes to Christmas parties! 23 weeks, 6 days.

One thought on “Tuesday Update: 23 Weeks

  1. I’ve experienced a lot of pelvic pain (I think) since pretty early on. My next appointment i’m going to talk to the midwife about it because it’s gotten a lot worse the past couple weeks. My internet search turned up Pelvic Girdle Pain, which is apparently pretty common: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pelvic_girdle_pain

    I’m also a sucker for ginger cookies. I just love ginger!

Leave a Reply

