Tuesday Update – Week 27

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): Man, I still feel like I’m in week 27! Perhaps I’m just nervous about my new place in the third trimester and want to hold on to the past as much as possible. The week started off pretty mellow. I bought a couple of outfits for baby L online:

We had our second prenatal class, which was great. We ended up discussing fear and how it can effect labour. At the time I was feeling pretty good, but the next day all of my fears came to the surface and caused a major talk with Pat and then later, my sister. We got an estimate from the contractor and will hopefully be booking with them this week. Later in the week, I took advantage of my last friday off until Mat Leave starts by getting my hair cut, having lunch with Pat and some of his co-workers and getting a massage!

Unfortunately, all of my running around resulted in a seriously sore body (I’m so not used to these limitations yet), so I spent Saturday doing a whole lot of nothing. Sunday, we were invited over to Nana J & C’s place for dinner. There, I was gifted with the most geektastic shirt ever from Think Geek:

The picture is a bit blurry but what it says is "Loading....Please Wait"

How far along am I? 28 weeks, 1 day.

I am thinking… Stressing a lot right now, actually. Trying not to, but yesterday was a long rough day and last week (so week 27) had some definite low points. Basically, after my long chat with my sister on Wednesday, I went to bed to read and relax. Right before going to bed, I noticed some blood on the sheets and realized I was spotting pretty heavily. After speaking with the midwife, I was assured that everything was fine, but it’s been pretty stressful since then, keeping track of Baby L’s movements and being really gentle with myself. Also, I’m thinking about how much we have going on over the next while. So busy!

I am thankful for… My peeps, as always. We had a great time at Jan & Cathy’s this weekend, and we’re trying to get out there more. S and I have plans on Saturday and Tracy and I are making phone date plans too. Times may be rough, but I have a great support system.

From the kitchen… Nothing new, I don’t think. I made delicious quiche again, but that’s about it.

I am wearing… (sorry folks, TMI time!) pads. Not going to get into specifics about what kind of pads, but let’s just say that I am at that point in pregnancy where everything leaks.

I am creating… Nothing right now, aside from baby :P Almost started a baby sweater this weekend, but I have to choose the yarn first.

I am going… To prenatal class tonight, a midwife appointment tomorrow, hanging out with S on Saturday and then back to Jan & Cathy’s for Sunday dinner. Busy week!

I am reading… Some more baby books (my SIL lent me some reads on baby sleep. I’m currently reading this one.) and The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin, as well as rereading one of my favourite series: Outlander. Don’t judge me. Those books are AWESOME. I’m actually on The Fiery Cross now.

I am hoping…to start receiving some of the great things we’ve bought for Baby L in the mail! Not only did I buy those cute outfits, but we also participated in a website deal where we got a box of pamper’s diapers for super cheap. Also, while Babies R Us is having BabyFest, Pat and I decided to pick up our carseat:

Graco Snugride 35

Yep. It was our first “major” baby purchase. Shit’s getting real, yo! ;)

I am hearing… Been thinking about my parents a lot lately, and so this song has been in my head and on repeat:

Around the house…Lots of decluttering, cleaning and planning.

One of my favorite things…White hot chocolate. It’s such a comfort thing. Mum used to buy us little packages to go in our stockings at Christmas from the Second Cup that was in the hospital main hall, when she was still working there. Every Christmas morning I’d have one. I know it’s terrible for me, but Timmy’s just introduced their own White Hot Chocolate, so I’ve indulged a few times.

Weight Gain: 25 lbs. I was pretty upset about this last week, but my massage therapist grumbled at me, told me I was beautiful and that my body is doing what it needs to to take care of Baby L and to prep for breast feeding. I am going to choose to believe her :)
Baby in the Produce World: According to The Bump, we’re still an eggplant. According to Baby Centre, Liam was the size of a head of cauliflower. Huh! That’s big!
Movement/Signs of the Baby: It was kind of a weird week for this. Up until the weekend, Liam was VERY active. On Friday, between appointments and such, I had a chai latte or two, and it just sent baby boy bouncing. All of a sudden, on Saturday, he calmed right down and barely moved at all. I was pretty freaked out. He seems to have ramped back up, and was especially doing cartwheels after my gestational diabetes test yesterday.
Cravings and Aversions: Muffins, milk, cake, and cookies. Sweet tooth much? Oh, and occasionally hamburgers.  Aversions: Not so much an aversion, but I’ve discovered that all those gassy foods are KILLER to me now,  so I’m having to avoid all of my favourite veg :( I had some meatloaf this weekend that was heavy on the onions and I thought I was going to die.
Body Changes/Weirdness: Still having pelvic pain, swelling and waddling continues. Bellybutton is almost completely gone. It is a belly dimple. I am leaking. I’ll leave that at that.  Yesterday was the worst for constant trips to the bathroom. I think Baby L is just playing with me now, waiting to see how quick and how often I can run to the nearest water closet.  Having lots of trouble sleeping, due to discomfort.  Also, getting off the couch/out of bed/up, off of a chair is getting more interesting and way less graceful.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: I’m in the third trimester. Holy crap. When did that happen? I’ve been having some moments of pure panic “Oh god, I’m not ready! I can’t have a baby! I can’t do this!” and then the next second I can’t wait to meet him. This was especially true with my spotting scare and the decreased movement this weekend. I was terrified that something was wrong and that we might lose him. I can’t imagine not having our baby boy in April. It hurts my heart to even think about.
We’ve been having a lot of fun talking about our birth plan (Which I’ve started), what our plans are after birth, and what we hope for him as he grows up. It’s amazing to think of the ways that this is going to change our lives, in both big and small ways.
Other Pictures from this Week:

One thought on “Tuesday Update – Week 27

Leave a Reply

