Wednesday Update – Week 28

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): Last week was certainly a million times better than the one I’m currently living through. I don’t want to ruin the fun for next week’s update, but Pat and I have been hit HARD with norovirus since Sunday. This is why I’m a little late posting. I was still pretty much bed ridden yesterday. SO! Back to week 28! The week started out a little hard. Monday was a day full of tests for us. I had a long day scheduled at the hospital that I will be delivering at for my winrow shot, my gestational diabetes test and third trimester blood work. I hadn’t realized that it was the first time that I had been to a hospital since my mother died. My tests all went fine, but being in the hospital was really really hard. The smell triggered all sorts of flashbacks and issues for me, and by the time we got home, I was sore, tired, headachy and ready for the day to be done. Unfortunately, I was greeted by an email from the estate lawyer which turned into a 2 hour conversation which went way past my bed time. Not. Fun.

Tuesday was our prenatal class, which is always lovely.

Wednesday was our midwife appointment, which went really well. Baby L is doing well, and we got to meet our student midwife, Brianna. We had a great time and by the end of the appointment, I felt even more on the same page as our birthing team than before. It was awesome. Unfortunately, a busy and emotional week turned into an emotional meltdown for me.

Thursday, our car seat arrived!! So exciting! Unfortunately, we brought it home to find our dog, Maddie, had been sick ALL over the house. Ew.

The week wound down with me cat sitting for my co-worker, J, doing some shopping with S and her two kids (she introduced me to Kiddie Town. I am in love! I also bought a ton of onesies at Carter’s Oshgosh. Heeee).

"My Daddy Rocks"

Animals!

Handsome <3

Sunday we went to Jan and Cathy’s for dinner, only to find me getting suddenly hit by what felt like the most sudden and worst stomach flu of life. Roll credits!

How far along am I? 29 weeks, 2 day.

I am thinking…I hate seeing my loved ones sick! I don’t know how parents do it. Watching Pat last night was heartbreaking. I wanted so badly to help him, but knew there was nothing I could really do to help. Also, being sick while pregnant is truly terrible. I don’t recommend it.

I am thankful for… My amazing husband, who sacrificed his own well being by taking care of me when I was super contagious. He was a real rock star. He’s going to be amazing during the birth. Seriously, I am so proud. Also? DragonVale. I’m very addicted.

From the kitchen… I haven’t had solid food since Sunday. So, yeah. No.

I am wearing… PJs. Again, since sunday. (not the same ones, I promise)

I am creating…Not much new. I did launch my new website, maevan.ca, though! I’m currently trying to get the photo albums up.

I am going… To rest up and get better. Start planning for baby!

I am reading… Some more baby books (my SIL lent me some reads on baby sleep. I’m currently reading this one.) and The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin, as well as rereading one of my favourite series: Outlander. Don’t judge me. Those books are AWESOME. I’m actually on The Fiery Cross now.

I am hoping…that once Pat and I are better that we can get the basement cleared out, pronto. The contractors are ready to go and promise to be done by the end of February!

I am hearing… A lot of crap, but I’m learning to let it go.

Around the house…Lots of post-illness cleaning. After that, once I’m well again, cleaning out the basement and then going through that crap one box at a time.

One of my favorite things…The pregnancy journal I bought early on. I’ve been writing in it weekly and really think it will be a great keepsake.

Weight Gain: It was about 26lbs, but then I got sick. I’m now down about 11lbs. Yep, pretty scary stuff, but it should be mostly water weight. Baby L seems to be fine, and my belly is still growing, so it came from elsewhere.
Baby in the Produce World: According to The Bump, we’re still an eggplant. According to Baby Centre, Liam was the size of chinese cabbage
Movement/Signs of the Baby: Lots of movement :) Pat saw my belly move from across the room the other night and thought it was the coolest thing ever. My midwife says that L is head down and quite low. I’m anxious to see our ultrasound on the 31st to see if my placenta has moved up at all.
Cravings and Aversions: Muffins, milk, cake, and cookies. Sweet tooth much? Oh, and occasionally hamburgers.  Aversions: Not so much an aversion, but I’ve discovered that all those gassy foods are KILLER to me now,  so I’m having to avoid all of my favourite veg :(
Body Changes/Weirdness: Still have an innie, but just barely. I’m really curious to see if my bellybutton pops.  Otherwise, the leaking of the boobs continues and I’m definitely feeling baby more. Many aches and pains, especially when sitting. My chiropractor has recommended the same as my prenatal instructor: Sit at the edge of the seat, and lean forward. Hopefully that’ll keep the little man the way he’s supposed to be and give me some relief.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: The reality of baby’s arrival is starting to hit, which is making me think about my knitting projects, our birth plan, my bag, my sister’s visit, etc… etc.. So much to plan for! I can’t believe how fast time is flying by!
Other Pictures from this Week:

I am the kitties' favourite hang out spot these days. That's both Cole and Byron, hanging out.

28 weeks, 4 days

Leave a Reply

