Tuesday Update – Week 29

Week 29 - The week of the plague

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): Well, Week 29 was not my friend. Sunday evening (the end of week 28), we were over at Jan and Cathy’s for dinner, as planned. Out of no where, I found myself feeling very off. Next thing I knew, I was shaking and feeling ill, so I told Pat something wasn’t right and I ran to the bathroom with my cellphone. That started the 18 hours of hell known as the Norwalk Virus. I have never had a worse gastrointestinal illness in my life, and that’s saying something considering I have undiagnosed digestive issues and spent 3 days in the hospital as a result of those issues.  I was violently ill for about 18 hours, and then very sick for two more days. The rest of the week was spent resting, healing and praying that the hurting would stop.

I almost had to go to the hospital for IV fluids due to dehydration. I lost 15lbs in water weight. Pat was an amazing help. I said, at the time, that it was like a trial run for labour. He helped me through the debilitating cramping, kept me drinking, called the midwife, you name it. Unfortunately, Norwalk is extremely contagious. Pat fell ill with it himself on Tuesday, so I spent a couple of my sick days taking care of him while also trying to take care of myself. By the end of the week, we were both starving (I couldn’t stomach solid food until about Thursday), sore and going stir crazy. By the end of the weekend, we were both recovered.

How far along am I? 30 weeks, 1 day.

I am thinking…about my ultrasound, which is happening later today.

I am thankful for… the renovations which are FINALLY getting started in our house. Eeee! Also, stealing from last week: My amazing husband, who sacrificed his own well being by taking care of me when I was super contagious. He was a real rock star. He’s going to be amazing during the birth. Seriously, I am so proud.

From the kitchen… Not much. We’ve been eating very cautiously and blandly since the death plague struck.

I am wearing… Work clothes.

I am creating…Not much. As you can tell from my last post, I’m doing a lot of “thinking about creating” ;)

I am going… to have a busy week! ultrasound, renos and prenatal class today, tomorrow is a massage, thursday is a midwife appointment, saturday is a day for me and then Sunday is my baby shower! :D

I am reading… Some more baby books (my SIL lent me some reads on baby sleep. I’m currently reading this one.) and The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin, as well as rereading one of my favourite series: Outlander. Don’t judge me. Those books are AWESOME. I’m actually on The Fiery Cross now.

I am hoping…that the renos are quick and done well. This stuff always freaks me out. Also, I hope the u/s goes well. Today we find out if I need a C-Section due to my low placenta :(

I am hearing… A lot of crap, but I’m learning to let it go.

Around the house…Lots of mess, dust and furr. We’ve moved almost everything out of the basement into our dining room for the duration of the renovations. So. Yeah. Messy house.

One of my favorite things…the cream I’ve been using to prevent stretch marks and to keep my skin hydrated over the winter.

Buriti Baby Body Butter

It’s the Buriti Baby Body Butter from The Body Shop. It’s a really lovely moisturiser that is rich enough to get the job done, but unlike most of the other body butters out there, it’s not greasy at all and absorbs almost immediately.

Weight Gain: It was about 26lbs, but then I got sick. I lost about 15lbs, but have gained most of it back now that I’m eating and drinking again. I think it’s around 22lbs total.
Baby in the Produce World: According to The Bump, we’re now a squash!. According to Baby Centre, Liam was the size of butternut squash
Movement/Signs of the Baby: LOTS of movement. Not sure if it was the digestive badness, but Liam was having a PARTY in there. For the first time ever, some of his kicks were starting to hurt, especially around the ribs.
Cravings and Aversions: Recently I’ve been craving egg rolls. No idea why. Same as always: Muffins, milk, cake, and cookies. Sweet tooth much? Oh, and occasionally hamburgers.  Aversions: Not so much an aversion, but I’ve discovered that all those gassy foods are KILLER to me now,  so I’m having to avoid all of my favourite veg :(
Body Changes/Weirdness: Bellybutton Watch 2012 -Still an innie, but now there’s some strange bruising around it.   Otherwise, the leaking of the boobs continues and I’m definitely feeling baby more. Many aches and pains, especially when sitting. I’ve started prenatal yoga again in the hopes of working through some of this. Sleep has been nearly impossible for me lately. I have to pee ALL THE TIME, even if I really don’t.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: With my spotting episode a few weeks ago, followed by the death plague and my worries about the low placenta, I’m really anxious to see baby today. On top of that, I am really curious about what position he’s in. The student midwife said he was head down, with his bum out (Anterior, which is the optimal position for baby), but I’d like to see it myself.
Other Pictures from this Week:

Yep. Sorry. It was a rough week.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Update – Week 29

  1. Ah, I see some Diana Gabaldon for comfort? Sorry to hear you were so sick – I hope it didn’t affect your wee one.

    On the Babeh front, don’t be surprised if your babe rotates a bit in the last 10 weeks. My first son was head down, but in the last month, would rotate every night – sometimes his back was out front, sometimes it was the other way. How could I tell? By the movement/kicks, but also by the hiccups several times a day. Too funny!

    • Indeed! She is one of my comfort reads <3 I'm in process of rereading the whole series :D

      Luckily the Death Plague didn't reach Baby L. He's doing just fine :D

      Hee! Our good friend told me the other day that despite being in perfect position for weeks, the day before she gave birth to her twins, one of them went from head down to breech. Hopefully chiro and good posture will keep the little guy where he needs to be :D

Leave a Reply

