Tuesday Update – Week 31

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): Week 31 was yet another busy week.  Baby L seemed to be going through a major growth spurt, which resulted in a lot of soreness for me and a definite lack of sleep. I started to stress a lot about getting things done before L arrives, and even pulled out my suitcase and diaper bag to get started on getting ready for the hospital. We had our last prenatal class, had some issues with our contractors that Pat seems to have sorted out (yay husband!).

I realized I may have a stalker at work. He’s a student that has talked to me off-campus, at my bus stop and set off my warning bells and has since been by the office a few times (though hasn’t talked to me). I’m logging every occurrence, talking to my co-workers and my family about it, so I’m completely covered in case he continues like this (he hasn’t been by this week yet, thank god).

On Friday, we visited with two of Pat’s aunties who couldn’t make it to the shower. They absolutely spoiled us and Liam with lots of clothes, books, toys and keepsakes. It was an absolutely amazing visit. They are passed on a gift that had been made for Liam by an 87 year old Nun at their church. She had hand-knit a lace blanket for him and had it blessed! I’m obviously not catholic, but that kind of gift, one that selflessly comes from the heart AND the spirit, especially for someone she doesn’t know, completely warmed my heart. I am honoured and feeling absolutely blessed to have such wonderful people thinking about our baby boy.

The rest of the weekend was spent cleaning and decluttering. We got some good news from the lawyer and hopefully, fingers and toes crossed, the estate will be almost completely done in a week or two!

How far along am I right now? 32 weeks, 1 day.

I am thinking…about baby’s arrival and what we need to do between now and then. I’ve been doing a lot of cleaning, decluttering, planning, dreaming, list making and online shopping!

I am thankful for… the incredible kindness of the people around me. Aside from the wonderful gift from the Nun, I’ve also been invited as a guest of honour at a Blessingway/Mother Blessing by the sister of a highschool friend. She heard that I wasn’t going to have one and, despite not knowing me, offered to host it for me!

Also, there’s a wonderful woman from the Wedding Bells forums who is giving me about 30 articles of baby boy clothing for Liam, for free! It’s amazing how these people, almost complete strangers, are so willing to be so supportive, loving and giving!

From the kitchen… As a V-Day treat, I’m making stew tonight. Otherwise, there hasn’t been much. We’ve been too busy to do much cooking or baking.

I am wearing… Work clothes. I’m finding I’m CRAZY warm lately, so I’m trying to focus on layers and breathable fabrics.

I am creating…The Boo Hat, which is almost done! Unfortunately, I thought I had some size 10 DPNs but I can’t find them anywhere, and without them, I can’t finish the hat! This calls for a trip to the yarn store :D

I am going… out to dinner with my husband tomorrow as a belated valentine’s day celebration. I’m really excited :D As for today, I’m going to try to take it easy, despite it being the busiest day of the year for my office.

I am reading… Some more baby books (I’m now reading this book, which was a gift from Jan and her family).  Still working my way through rereading one of my favourite series: Outlander. I’m currently on A Breath of Snow and Ashes now.

I am hoping…that the estate stuff goes smoothly and that we can move forward with some of our redecorating/prepping for baby plans.

I am hearing…Some of my old favourites, to calm my nerves. Lots of Neko Case (pretty much the soundtrack of this pregnancy), some Tori, some Weepies, some Mumford and Sons and some Florence and the Machine.

Around the house…The basement is on its way! I tackled about 1/3 of the office, so my goal is to finish that this week (declutter, sort, pack), in preparation for moving it all to the basement and then transforming the room into a guest room.

One of my favorite things…Mr. Big chocolate bars. Definitely a pregnancy thing. I hated them before!

Weight Gain: In total, we’re back up to 26lbs. Not bad for 32 weeks pregnant.
Baby in the Produce World: According to The Bump, we’re still a squash. According to Baby Centre, Liam weighs as much as four large oranges. Weird.
Movement/Signs of the Baby: Lots of movement! He is definitely getting bigger, because I feel a whole lot more than I used to, especially at night. My belly wiggles and jiggles when he moves. Occasionally, he even gets a good shot in and makes me gasp. While I was knitting Boo Hat, he would wiggle his bum right up against the part of my belly that the hat was brushing up against. It was the weirdest and cutest thing ever. When he pushes his bum up like that, I playfully and gently spank him, while talking to him. It’s awesome :D Unfortunately, he is also now punching/kicking me in awkward and uncomfortable places too, so it’s a bit of a trade off.
Cravings and Aversions: Recently I’ve been craving Mr. Big chocolate bars, egg rolls. No idea why. Same as always: Muffins, milk, cake, and cookies. Sweet tooth much? Oh, and occasionally hamburgers.  Aversions: Red Meat is back with a vengeance, with certain exceptions. Not so much an aversion, but I’ve discovered that all those gassy foods are KILLER to me now,  so I’m having to avoid all of my favourite veg :(
Body Changes/Weirdness: Pelvic pain is back, with a feeling like L is way down low in there. My hips and lower back hurt now too, making sleep VERY difficult. I’m waddling for sure now, and avoiding long walks and stairs as much as I can because they take so much out of me. Bellybutton Watch 2012 -Barely an innie, but now there’s some strange bruising/discolouration around it.   Otherwise, the leaking of the boobs continues and I’m definitely feeling baby more.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: WHERE IS THE TIME GOING?!
Other Pictures from this Week:

One thought on “Tuesday Update – Week 31

  1. That’s awesome about the blessed baby blanket. I generally feel about blessed-by-other-traditions items the same way I feel about someone (non-obnoxiously) offering to pray for me. It’s all positive energy, we just all go about accessing it in different ways.

Leave a Reply

