Monday Update – Week 32

Sorry to post this early this week folks. Tuesday is going to be a crazy day at work, and with today being “Family Day” here in Ontario, I have it off.

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): It’s been a crazy week for me. My co-worker left for her vacation after the busiest day of the year for my department – Our major annual career fair. My co-worker works very closely with me, and acts as receptionist with me too. With her gone, I have my own work, as well as hers, and I get all of the reception duties. It’s been intense!

Also, it was Valentine’s Day (not that we do much, but we did go out for dinner at a great little restaurant -we had a coupon- that totally won me over. It’s within 15 minutes of our place, and had super tasty made-on-site italian food. YUM.)

We also had a midwife appointment, and got to hear the little man’s heart beat (favourite thing ever). It was an ok appointment, but I left feeling a little…I dunno…worried? I’m a bit of a granola girl when it comes to health care, and my midwife seems a lot more evidence focused. When I ask about herbal teas and alternative therapies, she looks at me like a kook sometimes. I dunno. I also have this bad habit of downplaying my discomfort and symptoms (a result of being the daughter of a nurse? The eldest daughter? Having major guilt issues? I’m not sure. I’ve done it my whole life.) Pat thinks that as a result, I don’t make it seem like there’s anything really that wrong, so she doesn’t take it as seriously as I’d like her to.

Once the weekend arrived, I found myself to be really emotional. Yay for 3rd trimester hormones! Luckily, some amazing highlights cheered me up. One was the amazing gift from a lady on one of the forums I follow – About 40 pieces of baby boy clothes! Our little man will definitely have a nice strong wardrobe when he arrives! Later that same evening, I was off for a Girls Night Out to celebrate my SIL’s birthday and had an amazing time! It was lovely to connect with her friends – All of whom are Mums and had some amazing stories and words of advice. It was lovely!

How far along am I right now? 33 weeks, 1 day.

I am thinking…about baby’s arrival and what we need to do between now and then. I have a feeling this is going to be on my mind a lot. I’ve been really trying to prepare, but it’s starting to create some anxiety. Must not freak out!

I am thankful for… My husband, who has an incredible amount of patience for me and my mood swings.

From the kitchen… Not much, to be honest. The stew I made for valentine’s day ended up making me sick (but not Pat, which is odd). I’ve made pancakes twice this weekend, if that counts :)

I am wearing… PJS! Yay for the long weekend!

I am creating…The Boo Hat, which is almost done! Unfortunately, I thought I had some size 10 DPNs but I can’t find them anywhere, and without them, I can’t finish the hat! This calls for a trip to the yarn store :D Planning on starting the Yoga Sweater this weekend.

I am going… Jan and Cathy’s for Family Day dinner tonight :)

I am reading… Some more baby books (I’m now reading this one, which I recently ordered. It’s a pretty good basic guide for what to expect when you bring your baby home).  Still working my way through rereading one of my favourite series: Outlander. I’m currently on A Breath of Snow and Ashes now.

I am hoping…that this week isn’t too crazy, and that I survive, NO – Thrive while my co-worker is away. Also, that I don’t have this baby too early. So much left to do!

I am hearing…Right now, I’m obsessed with Taylor Swift’s new song from the Hunger Games soundtrack. Of course, I love The Civil Wars, so this one is a no-brainer for me:

Around the house…Cleaning and decluttering while we wait for the basement to be finished.

One of my favorite things…Slip on shoes. My poor poor swollen feet!

Weight Gain: In total, we’re back up to 26lbs.

Baby in the Produce World: According to The Bump, we’re still a squash. According to Baby Centre, Liam weighs as much as a large jicama, which is a mystery fruit/veg to me. It looks like a big potato.
Movement/Signs of the Baby: Lots of movement! He wiggles, he stretches, punches and kicks. He is an active little guy.
Cravings and Aversions: Same as last week – Recently I’ve been craving Mr. Big chocolate bars, egg rolls. No idea why. Same as always: Muffins, milk, cake, and cookies. Sweet tooth much? Oh, and occasionally hamburgers.  Aversions: Red Meat is back with a vengeance, with certain exceptions. Not so much an aversion, but I’ve discovered that all those gassy foods are KILLER to me now,  so I’m having to avoid all of my favourite veg :(
Body Changes/Weirdness: Same as last week – Pelvic pain is back, with a feeling like L is way down low in there. My hips and lower back hurt now too, making sleep VERY difficult. I’m waddling for sure now, and avoiding long walks and stairs as much as I can because they take so much out of me. Bellybutton Watch 2012 -Barely an innie, but now there’s some strange bruising/discolouration around it.   Otherwise, the leaking of the boobs continues and I’m definitely feeling baby more.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: People need to stop telling me that I’m going to have this baby in March. TOO SOON
Other Pictures from this Week:

A view from the front

End of the Week, around 32 weeks 4 days

A V-Day gift from a co-worker! Gorgeous and smell SO GOOD

Byron's new favourite spot.

Ready for my night out for my SIL's birthday

3 thoughts on “Monday Update – Week 32

  1. I just ordered Heading Home With Your Newborn too after checking it out from the library and deciding it would be a good one to have kicking around permanently.

    For our midwife visits, I can have a tendency to downplay too (I can totally relate!) but then Steve acts as my advocate and jumps in to explain a little more what I’ve been feeling (and not hesitating to complain to him about! hehe). Maybe Pat can do the same for you next time and then your pain is still getting effectively expressed, but you don’t have to be in the uncomfortable position of “complaining” and feeling like you’re making a mountain out of a mole hill (which is totally not what you’re doing but that’s how I feel when I describe my pain to anyone but Steve and I’m just guessing that’s how you feel too).

    • It’s definitely a great one to reference I think! The other book that I am enjoying is the Dr. Sears “Baby Book”(though it’s HUGE).

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who downplays this stuff. Pat is really great about bringing up issues that I’m avoiding/downplaying, but unfortunately, he’s not always able to make it to every appointment.

  2. I got that one out of the library too and have ordered it on Amazon since then :) It *is* huge.

    Hmm, that is a pickle if he isn’t there. You’ll have to channel him!

Leave a Reply

