Big News and Wednesday Update – Week 35

Before I begin this post, I have to make an announcement. We just just got the news from the estate lawyer that all beneficiaries have signed off on the estate accounts. This means that, as of right now, the estate is pretty much done.

Done.

It’s been two years of hell and now, during this time of incredible change and growth, it’s done.

I don’t know how to process this. I’m in shock, I think. I haven’t cried. I haven’t laughed. I haven’t really felt anything yet. When I do feel again, I know that I will feel incredible relief and joy.

It’s done.

And now, on to our regularly scheduled update:

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): Unfortunately, we did have to put our Mystie down. We’re still having a really hard time of it, but we both feel that it was for the best. She really seemed at peace with it and purred the entire time she was at the vet. We miss her constantly. :(

This past week was the week of OMG RENOS. We had Jan over and she put us on a schedule, and to that schedule we stuck (as best we could). Painting has started, I’ve been hard-core decluttering. Also, I met with one of our midwives and had The Talk. What talk is that? The big “When Do I finish Work” talk. Pat’s been super worried about me and my stress levels, so we finally brought it up with the m/w. In the end, it came down to us and we decided that this week would be my last, with the 16th being my last day of work. It was very sudden and was definitely a shock to my employer and my co-workers. It’s been a hard adjustment for all of us, but I’m feeling at peace with the decision. She also checked me, to see if I’ve dialated at all, and apparently Liam is staying put for a while (which is good news for me!)

The next day, my co-workers treated me to a baby shower! I had an amazing time (laughed and laughed!) and was spoiled rotten. I’m going to miss most of those girls :)

Then, on Sunday, Jan surprised us by bringing over the entire family to help us clean, move and declutter. I was so touched and honoured by the love this family has shown us. It was a tremendous help.

How far along am I right now? 35 weeks, 2 day.

I am thinking…about timing. It’s incredible to me that everything is happening all at once. Nearly 2 years from when my mother passed away, our lives have gone through so much change. All of a sudden, the estate is finally done, we’re going to be able to afford a car for me, I could have my first child any time now, we’re making our house a home, etc….I feel like some road block has finally been lifted and we can finally start living our own lives.

Also? I think this video is gorgeous:

I am thankful for… Maternity leave. This is my last week at work. I am anxious for this week to be over and to start spending more time at home, preparing for Liam.

From the kitchen… Not much. Sorry!

I am wearing… With it being my last week, I’ve been living in my comfy work pants from S, sneakers (the only things that keep my swelling down) and comfy tops (whatever doesn’t pull too much over the belly)

I am creating…Nothing new, but I did finally get the needles I needed to finish Liam’s hat (though with the weather we’ve been having, he won’t need it!)

I am going…to try to stay productive. It hasn’t been working so far, this week. We’ve been too tired, too emotional and too stressed.

I am reading… Still working my way through rereading one of my favourite series: Outlander. I’m currently on Echo in the Bone now.

I am hoping…that we gain momentum and get back on track with the house.

I am hearing…Lots of calming music. Last night it was Loreena McKennitt while I had a bath. Lots of Mumford and Sons, Tori, Sarah Harmer, and Neko Case.

Around the house…Painting of the basement has been started.

Before painting - The walls fixed and the floor is in

Basement, before the paint. This is just primed drywall.

It's a dark and rainy day, but this shows you kind of what it looks like with the first coat on!

Another angle, first coat down on a dark and rainy day.

Decluttering is happening, and we’re definitely setting up a storage system so that what does get kept, is kept tidy.

One of my favorite things…Slip on shoes and my sneakers. These arrived in the mail:

Of course, it’s wet and warm out there, so I haven’t been wearing them much. When I do wear them, it’s like slippers! Love it.

Weight Gain: Total, about 34 lbs.

 Baby in the Produce World: According to The Bump, we’re now a honeydew melon.  Baby Centre agrees!
Movement/Signs of the Baby: Week 35 was a really quiet week for Liam. He seemed to be hunkered down, ready for a growth spurt. He would move a little here and there, but no major kicking and punching. When checked, the midwife told me he was head down and really low in the pelvis. Little man is definitely anxious to get out!
Cravings and Aversions: Nothing new. Still loving milk and sweet things. Craving hamburgers every so often. Still hating the smell of other people’s coffee. Also? Not a huge cheese fan lately.
Body Changes/Weirdness: The same as last week continues: What seems like prelabour or Braxton hicks, so: Contractions/cramping, weird popping noises in my belly, bad gas, digestive issues, exhaustion, soreness in my hips and pelvis, badly swollen feet. It’s fun to be me right now. Also? The ladies at work report that my belly looks like Liam may have dropped. Good times.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: I find it amusing how many people on forums and in my group of friends are anxious to have their little ones out. They are planning natural and medical induction methods. Meanwhile, I am perfectly happy with Liam staying put as long as he needs to (Ideally, until we’re closer to week 40). I’m starting to get nervous and a little scared of labour.
Other Pictures from this Week:

35 weeks, 4 days. The day of my work baby shower :)

A funny shot from my baby shower. One of our colleagues didn't come, so this was my attempt at guilt-tripping ;)

2 thoughts on “Big News and Wednesday Update – Week 35

  1. It sounds like things are really moving in a positive direction for you – estate done, renos making progress, and work finishing up. Time to enjoy these last weeks of pregnancy! :) I’m so happy for you. I have a very flexible schedule so if there’s ever an afternoon during the week that you feel like having a visit, let me know!

Leave a Reply

