Tuesday Update – Week 37

A peek at the past week (how I’ve been): As we approach D-Day, I feel like time is both racing by and stopped. It’s a really strange feeling. I have a hard time remembering what I’ve done, and so these catch-up questions are tough for me (and would be impossible if I didn’t update on the Baby Bells forum as often as I did). Here’s what week 37 held:

Started the week off with some housekeeping (which has been hard to stay on top of, with everything else we’ve been doing), followed by selling my old dress form to an old knitting friend of mine. The weather was insanely hot (like, nearly 30 degrees celcius. That’s really crazy for us, this time of year). I had my weekly midwife appointment, which was ok. I met our other student midwife and am not so sure about her. She seemed really unconfident and we just didn’t mesh. Otherwise though, everything was fine. Me and Liam are doing well, and the midwife thinks I’ve got a couple of weeks left before labour.

Pat and I bought some furniture, and continued work on the house. We got the office/soon to be guest room cleared out and the carpets cleaned. We cleared out the nursery and vacuumed in there, before moving all the baby stuff back in. The basement is almost completely done. It’s been a ton of work, and there’s still lots to do, but I’m kind of over it. At this point, so long as the house is functional, I’m happy. I honour of our mat photo shoot and the hot weather, I went out and bought a few cute summery/spring mat tops which have been a huge help for those steamy days.

Friday was my mother’s birthday, and in her honour a few of my co-workers were participating in the Relay for Life, so Pat and I showed up to support them. Saturday we got the new furniture delivered and spent the rest of the day with S and K. S and I went to get some pedicures (which was an amazing experience. I needed it SO BAD) and then we had a dinner double date. Sunday, we had our maternity photo shoot and then we finished up the rest of our baby shopping, with a couple of exceptions. We’re definitely very close to being totally ready for this little guy. Also, my sister booked her flights! She’ll be here from the 4th of April until the 26th. Can’t wait for her to arrive! Just about a week away now!

How far along am I right now? 38 weeks, 1 day.

I am thinking…about how Liam could arrive any time now. Part of me is fighting this, screaming “We’re not ready yet! There’s so much left to do!”, but i know that no matter when he gets here, everything will be fine. I refuse to five in to the guilt and feel like we’re not doing enough for him, even before he gets here.

I am thankful for… Popsicles and ginger lemon tea. Guess who’s sick? Sigh

From the kitchen… Nothing really. Been too busy

I am wearing… Jeans, a long sleeved mat shirt and a sweater. The hot weather last week is gone and it got down to -15 this week.

I am creating…The finishing touches on Liam’s hat. It’s just missing the ears! Planning on starting the sweater asap too

I am going…to be happy when we don’t have any trades or contractors coming to the house. I’m exhausted with waiting around for someone to show up.

I am reading… not really reading right now. Too tired and too busy

I am hoping…that Liam stays put for a little while yet. There’s still so much to do! Also, I hope our mat photos turn out!

I am hearing…Lots of calming music. Last night it was Loreena McKennitt while I had a bath. Lots of Mumford and Sons, Tori, Sarah Harmer, and Neko Case.

Around the house…Lots of work!

Currently Done:

Last week:

  • Basement painting (only a bit left, but we’re waiting until all the furniture is down to do the stairwell, as its getting dinged and scratched)
  • Move Office Downstairs
  • Decluttered and reorganized front closet
  • Decluttered and reorganized dining room
  • Set up organization system in basement
  • Do all baby laundry and sort clothes
  • Start packing hospital bag
  • Buy Nursing tanks
This week:
  • Set up TV Space downstairs
  • Bought sectional, coffee table and TV stand for basement
  • Set up Office downstairs
  • Cleaned out Soon-To-Be-Guest-Room (including carpet cleaning)
  • Moved furniture into guest room
  • Decluttered and reorganized bathrooms
  • Decluttered and reorganized kitchen (mostly done)
  • Bought the remaining baby essentials
  • Do maternity photos
  • Sold living room desk
  • Bought new phones for the house to replace the crappy dying ones
  • Bought Baby Journal
  • Scheduled an estimate with an HVAC guy

To Do:

  • Buy living room furniture
  • Buy bookcases for basement
  • Set up guest room
  • Declutter and reorganize bedroom
  • Declutter and reorganize living room
  • Buy mattress for crib
  • Set up nursery
  • Confirm hospital bag is packed
  • Make freezer meals
  • Sell Subaru
  • Buy new family vehicle
  • Set up car seat
  • Cleanse Quilt of Hate into Quilt of Love
  • Get rid of current living room furniture.
  • Replace A/C and furnace
  • Get basement window installed
  • Move Kitty Litter to basement
  • Decide what to do with master bedroom
  • Go on a date with hubby

One of my favorite things…Crocs. I’ve actually ordered a bunch more. Don’t judge! They are way cuter now and are seriously comfortable.

Weight Gain: Total, about 36 lbs.

Baby in the Produce World: According to The Bump, I think I was still a honeydew melon.  Baby Centre says he’s as long as a stalk of swiss chard. Random.
Movement/Signs of the Baby: VERY ACTIVE. Ow. His favourite hobby seems to be punching my cervix and my butt from the inside. Yes. My butt. From the inside.
Cravings and Aversions: Random new aversion: Eggs. Seriously, the thought of eating an egg in any form makes me want to barf. ick.
Body Changes/Weirdness: Lots more stretch marks, HUGE belly, very swollen feet and the latest addition: Sore finger joints and knuckles. Yay for water retention! Also, my belly button is now what I would consider an outtie. So weird!
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: I’m exhausted, and its really hard to get everything done. Also, people seem to have shifted from the “You’re glowing!” kind of comments to “Don’t be a hero! Get drugs!”, “Natural labour HURTS SO MUCH! YOUR VAGINA WILL NEVER RECOVER”, and “You must be terrified!”. Fun times. 
Other Pictures from this Week:

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Update – Week 37

  1. Don’t listen to anyone – seriously. When people start to try and tell their horror stories just politely tell them you need positive energy now and faith in your ability to do what you need/want to do.

    Yes! I had the baby Feb 22 – email me meghan.jarzyna@gmail.com if you wanna chat or I can give you my cell # if you need someone to text with you who has recently been through the same thing.

    • Meghan, thank you for this <3 All I've been getting lately is either "OMG! YOU'RE READY TO EXPLODE!!" or "OMG, YOU MUST BE SO SCARED LABOUR IS TERRIFYING I HEAR BABIES TEAR YOU UP FROM THE INSIDE AND MOTHERHOOD IS THE HARDEST THING YOU WILL EVER DO YOUR LIFE WILL NEVER BE THE SAME AND I MEAN THAT IN A REALLY NEGATIVE WAY"

      Sigh.

      Congrats!! I will definitely be in touch. It's so comforting to have fellow mums to connect with, especially when going through this Negativity Parade that I've been the happy recipient of.

  2. Amen to what meghan said!: “Don’t listen to anyone – seriously. When people start to try and tell their horror stories just politely tell them you need positive energy now and faith in your ability to do what you need/want to do.”

    So far I’ve been lucky and haven’t had too much horror stories dumped on me. I’ve seen some amazing births through our hypnobirthing class and it does NOT have to be painful and you are so going to be a rockstar and rock that birth’s butt. You totally got this.

    Good luck with getting everything done! It sounds like you’ve got a handle on things and yeah, no matter when Liam gets here, you’ll be able to work with what you’ve got. Looking good lady! I hope you feel better soon.

    • Thanks hon <3 Honestly, I found that people were great and positive until I hit the 36+ week mark. Suddenly, I was hearing about hard labours, rough days in the hospital, difficult motherhood stories, etc… Which is difficult when you're already at the point where the panic is setting in a bit (PS: which is totally normal, btw! If you suddenly feel like "Uh, uh-oh. You guys got this wrong. I can't be having a baby soon. I'm not ready! I need more time!", know that a lot of us go through it.)

      Man, I wish I had done hypnobirthing classes. I've heard nothing but AMAZING things about them.

      Thanks :D

Leave a Reply

