Who needs a market? Not me, today!

One of Liam’s favourite books is the fantastic “To Market, To Market
by Anne Miranda. For those who don’t know it, it’s a cute story about a woman who buys a bunch of animals with plans for making lunch (with them as the meal), however each of these animals escape into her home, so she gives up on eating them and decides to make veggie soup for herself and the critters.

Today I threw together something similar in the crock pot for dinner tonight and I wanted to share.

I based the recipe on Get Off Your Butt and Bake’s Traditional Stew recipe, which is a good base recipe for a basic stew. While I don’t currently have a bunch of animals running around my house instead of being a tasty meal, I did have a grumpy tired husband, a cranky teething baby and work tonight. We get our next box of CSA veg later today, so I wanted to make room in the fridge. It was a bad week for cooking, so I have a lot left over from last week. Luckily for us, that included some stewing beef, so its not exactly like the story. The whole time I was chopping the veggies, I couldn’t help but think of the story. Here’s what I put together:

Heather’s No Market Needed Stew:

YOU WILL NEED:

  • Around 2 lbs. beef stew meat, cut into 1 inch cubes. I had less than half that, so I added more veg
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 Tbsp oil
  • 3 bay leaf
  • 2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 Shallots
  • 2 Knorr Beef Bouillon packets
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. sugar
  • Chunked Veggies of your choice (This time, I used heirloom baby carrots, chopped CSA carrots, CSA red pepper, CSA Patty Pans, CSA fingerling potatoes, CSA red potatos, CSA beets)
  • A few shakes of Mrs. Dash original
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 cup broth (I had some organic chicken broth left. Yes, it seems weird to add chicken broth to a beef stew, but I’m working with what I have)
Coat meat with flour in a large ziploc bag. Set the leftover flour aside.
In large skillet heat oil (I used vegetable oil). Brown meat on all sides
In slow cooker, combine browned beef, bay leaves, Worcestershire sauce, sugar, shallots, garlic, bouillon cubes, seasoning, and vegetables.

stewPour water and broth over top, enough to mostly cover the meat and veg. Cover and cook on low 8-10 hrs.

Set slowcooker to high and thicken with 1/4 cup of the flour left over from coating dissolved in a small amount of warm water. Cover and cook on high 10 to 15 minutes until you are happy with the thickness.

Feeds 2 adults and a toddler, with plenty left for lunch tomorrow.

It’s a perfect way to use up those CSA or fall harvest vegetables. <3

Leave a Reply

