Review: Philips TT2040/32 Bodygroom Pro

My long time readers will know that I am very particular and passionate about grooming. For those new to these parts, here’s a bit of a back story: In University, I had a boyfriend who wanted me to shave everything off. I refused at the time, but decided a few months after our break up to see what the fuss was all about (Ha! Take that, jerk!). Up until I was about 6 months pregnant, I had been getting routine Brazilian waxes done. I stopped when I found I was too sensitive to continue. I have tried shaving, sugaring and waxing with both hot wax and cold wax. I have some very strong opinions on grooming (Mostly, its your body – Do what you want. Get it done right.)

Since having Liam, I find I can’t justify spending $50+ every month on such a non-essential. I’ve been looking into alternatives, and was given the opportunity to review the Philips TT2040/32 Bodygroom Pro with 3D Pivoting Head

image source: amazon.ca

image source: amazon.ca

I have to say I was a little nervous about trying an electric razor. When I was a teen, my mom bought one for me as a gift. I remember it pulling, yanking and causing all sorts of terrible razor burn. I hoped that electric razors have come a long way since then. Luckily, I was right.

Firstly, for those interested in shaving as a grooming option, there are some fantastic instructional pages out there. My favourite is the WikiHow Page.

The instructions are easy to understand and follow, which is handy when you’re not sure how long your toddler is going to nap for. I do wish the trimmer side got a bit closer to the skin, but I can understand that it has limitations. The closer-shave side is fantastic at getting the hair cut practically right down to the skin. I do wish it was a bit smaller to make those awkward angles a bit easier to manage, but I was still really happy with the result. This razor is water-safe, which makes for a much smoother shave, easier clean up and less razor-burn. Keep in mind that the first few times you use an electric razor, you will have a bit of irritation while your skin gets used to it. After a few shaves, you will notice that you have fewer ingrown hairs.

While the results weren’t quite as soft and smooth as a brazilian wax, and the hair grew back very quickly, I will say that this has fantastic value for a really good result. It’s 1/12th of the cost of getting a brazilian done monthly, and I love that I can touch up quickly whenever I need to (Hello, Thursday swim classes!). I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wanted a more economical option for all over body grooming.

Leave a Reply

