The fabric that binds us

I’m exhausted. I wish I could curl up and sleep for a day, but I can’t even imagine the damage my child would do while I slept and I have to leave for work in about an hour. We are still struggling with sleep in our home. Liam has transitioned to his room, but so have I. We’re working on it, but it’s been making for some long nights for me.

Add to that being out of the house all weekend and taking a course for the first time in YEARS, my brain is toast. It was so very worth it though. As of Sunday evening, I officially became a certified babywearing educator!

My love of babywearing was not something I was raised in to. As most of you know from my previous posts, my parents were away more often than not while I was growing up. I was raised by a series of nannies and babysitters until I was 12.

Liam’s birth was long and traumatic, leaving me physically limited for weeks afterwards. One of my dear friends, Kit, had gifted me with her old snugli when I was pregnant. When I could barely manage walking out of the house, it gave me the ability to carry my child and even go to the Stars and Strollers baby movie days. My love of it lead me to try a Moby, buy my first Buckle carrier (my beloved Beco Gemini) and eventually my first woven, my Gira Amitola. In addition to those, I also have a gauze wrap and a toddler tula. A girlfriend has leant me her maya ring sling and is talking about letting me keep it :) Why? Why do I love babywearing so much? Why do I need more than one carrier?

Well, let’s start with why I love it. To me, it’s more than a method of carrying my child. It gave me the physical ability to get out of the house during a really difficult time. The exercise I was able to get, as well as the human interaction and the sunlight I was able to enjoy really helped me work through my post partum depression and severe anxiety.

20120715_226

A tiny Liam in my gifted Snugli

20120715_227

He would sleep in it. It was such a big deal for me!

I joined babywearing groups (which was a natural progression for me. Keep in mind that I am a club person. I used to run the ottawa knit nites in University and I had a Sailor Moon fan club when I was a tween), which introduced me to some of my current support group and lead me to find like minded parents who have assisted me in sticking with my parenting choices. Having not had my parents around to provide me with parenting help, these people were anchors for me. It also helped me interact more with mommas in my Due Date group, who have now become my best friends (I’m looking at you, Lindsay, Crystal, Krista and Jenn).

Me in my Seven Slings pouch (we both hated it and gave it away)

Me in my Seven Slings pouch (we both hated it and gave it away)

It helped support my breastfeeding relationship, and helped me develop a relationship with my son which might have been very different without my carriers.

Me and my Moby

Me and my Moby. God knows what the hell I did with that tie….I think this was the very first time I tried wrapping. Thank god he didn’t fall.

Aside from the parenting related benefits – I am a huge fiber and textile geek. Babywearing has introduced me to a whole knew world of textiles. On top of that, my love of social history, women’s studies and anthropology relates to babywearing so very much. I can’t help but completely geek out on the subject!

My beloved Beco Gemini <3

My beloved Beco Gemini <3

Beco Gemini - "Omg! I can put him ON MY BACK?!"

Beco Gemini – “Omg! I can put him ON MY BACK?!”

It got me my job. Yep. My babywearing sister in law let me know about the job opening at her local babywearing and maternity store. I applied and included an introduction letter including my personal experiences with babywearing. I was hired on the spot because the girl who knew woven wraps was leaving Belly Laughs, and I was the only person who had applied that knew anything about them (In fact, I had included a picture of me wearing Liam in my Gira in my application). Through that job I have met some incredible people and have learned so so much. Through this job, I was able to take the course this past weekend.

My very first woven - Size 6 Girasol, Amitola.

My very first woven – Size 6 Girasol, Amitola.

My first attempt at a back carry with a wrap.

My first attempt at a back carry with a wrap.

The course was held by the Canadian Babywearing School. It was level one of the Babywearing Educators program (I am praying that we get the opportunity to do level two as well!). I feel so incredibly proud to be able to call myself a Babywearing Educator now. I feel so much better about being able to help other individuals and families in my community with something that I know completely changed my world for the better.

My second woven, a gauze wrap for the summer

My second woven, a gauze wrap for the summer. A terrible wrap job again…jesus, and I’m an educator now? 

The only downside – I am OBSESSED with babywearing again. My poor pinterest peeps must be so bored of all the carriers I’ve been pinning lately. I want ALL THE PRETTIES. Sorry y’all! It’s not going to get any better any time soon!

bwingpinterest

I’m probably going to ramble on about babywearing in the next while. Sorry about that. I just can’t get over how much I love it, even when my guy is so freaking in love with running and walking that he won’t tolerate it.

In our newest carrier, our toddler Tula in Ikat.

In our newest carrier, our toddler Tula in Ikat.

Sept 104Sept 096

3 thoughts on “The fabric that binds us

  1. Hello sweet mama! I, too, am a baby wearing junkie STILL and Leelu is almost 2 & 1/2. Although I only have experience with the Moby (because it was gifted to me) and the ring sling (which I made), because I couldn’t afford any other fancy ones out there. I would have loved to experiment with others and perhaps will with our next baby, but really I’m IN LOVE with my ring sling. I used it all the time and still do. I make one for every pregnant mama I know and couldn’t have functioned without it. Well, I could have, but I’m glad I didn’t have too :) I think it is SUPER AWESOME that you are a baby wearing educator. What a gift for Liam. Keep on keepin’ on, Mama! SO MUCH LOVE to you and yours!

    • Thank you so much, dear! <3 I love babywearing so much. I've been blessed that so many of my carriers have come to me through friends or great deals, because otherwise I would never have been able to afford them.

Leave a Reply

