Happy St. Patty’s!

Not having the laptop has really messed with my writing mojo.  I’m attempting a post on my phone,  so bare with me. Typos and formatting may be a bit wonky.

There’s been so much I have wanted to write about lately.  IKEA breastfeeding scandals, my health journey, decluttering,  cultural appropriation/racism fears, etc… I think I’ll start with what makes most sense: Happy St. Patty’s day! It’s one of those days that I feel a little torn about. I’m pagan, and the story of “driving snakes out of ireland” has been taken to mean the christianization of Ireland. The original Irish catholic traditions of the day are pretty much nonexistent in North America,  and a lot of my Irish buddies are offended by a lot of the stereotypical Irish stuff (leprechauns,  clovers ,  that stuff)… At the end of the day,  I’m like 4th Gen Irish and I find it exhausting to take everything so seriously. I will drink some mead (thanks Krista!),  wear green and probably cook something green.
image

Otherwise,  I’m trying to maintain our rhythm while healing up from a bad cold. Mondays are for cleaning and doing groceries. I’ve tackled some of our upstairs and now I’m putting off doing the main floor.  Our kitchen is a disaster thanks to the increased amount of cooking that’s been going on. Who would have thought that healthy living would be so messy?

It’s been a month since I’ve started eating better and working out. I’ve only lost 4lbs, but that’s ok. I’m not being hardcore about my efforts. This week I have some great meals planned. I’ll try to post them as I make them.

On the menu for tonight is this great stir fry recipe. I’ve made it a few times now and have loved it each time.

Well,  I can’t avoid cleaning anymore. Have great day,  enjoy some green drinks and food!

2 thoughts on “Happy St. Patty’s!

    • Exactly. Maybe if I was 16 and angsty I who use care… But now, the ‘holiday’ encouraged me to dress both me and my child, plan a meal with green and allow me to see pictures of my friends drinking. That’s good enough for me

Leave a Reply

