Review: Overtone Haircare

Most of you know that I won a makeover several months ago through our local morning news. I went from pretty drab to WAHBAM.

makeoverba

One of the issues that I’ve had since getting my hair done was finding a way to maintain the colour. Clearly, I couldn’t afford to hit a salon or else I wouldn’t have won the contest in the first place. I tried a couple of drug store colours with what seemed to be decent results:

SPLAT colour in red

SPLAT colour in red

I had a lot of issues with it. Firstly, it was super pigmented and stained everything it came in contact with. I had to take extreme care so as to not damage my house. Despite that, it faded almost immediately. Oh, and anything I touched turned red, even weeks later. Good times.

By the time I went in to deal with my absurdly grown in bangs, my hair had faded significantly. Not only that, but my stylist told me that the drugstore dye had damaged my hair badly. My poor curls were not happy. At all.

hair1So, when I came across the info-ad on the Offbeat empire about a new product called Overtone, I knew I had to try it. For those that aren’t familiar, here is what Overtone is all about:

-Dye depositing conditioner that is not only gentle on hair, but does hair good. 100% cruelty free.

-Can be used to maintain colour OR give a tint of colour. They have both a colour maintenance conditioner as well as a stronger more pigmented weekly treatment.

-Great for everything from pastels to intense extreme colour.

-The conditioner deposits a small amount of colour with every use, so you are free to wash your hair whenever you need to, in hot water if you want, without worrying about killing your colour.

I decided to splurge and buy the set in Extreme Pink to try. Here is how it went:

Naked, nursing and letting the colour soak in

Naked, nursing and letting the colour soak in

I jumped out of my shower once my hair was clean. I didn’t have gloves, so I was ready with my dye towel to save my hands. I liberally coated my locks in Go Deep in Extreme Pink and was super pleasantly surprised. It has the texture of a thick conditioner or gel, so it was really easy to manage and get full coverage. It has a super yummy mint (maybe rosemary too?) scent that I absolutely love. I hunkered down and let it soak in for a good while, nursing my little man.

Once the time was up, I hopped back in the shower and washed it out. It washed out so well. I didn’t have to scrub and stand there for a million years. When done, my hair already felt AMAZING.

While incredibly difficult to capture the colour, I was so impressed with the results! Overtone tinted my whole head of hair with a really beautiful pink. Considering I didn’t bleach or prep my hair in any way, the coverage was impressive! It was exactly what I was going for. A punch to my coloured bits, and tinting to my roots to blend them in. I love it!

hairafter1On top of everything, the colour has stayed put. I haven’t dyed my pillows or towels! Also, my scalp feels so happy. Usually, my poor skin FREAKS out with colouring, but instead my scalp and hair are feeling great. I think I may do another deep treatment this weekend to punch up the colour a bit more, just because I can.

I can’t say enough about how amazing this stuff is. If you have coloured hair and miss hot showers, or you want to play with colour without killing your hair, this stuff is for you. It’s pricey, but it seems like it’ll last a while and honestly, is worth it.

**I have not been paid or compensated in anyway for this review. I just really enjoy this product and wanted to share my experience with you.

One thought on “Review: Overtone Haircare

Leave a Reply

