21 Days

Anyone who has know me for at least a couple of months knows that I am a joiner. I loooove joining and starting things. I love the excitement of starting something new and the hope that comes from taking those first steps. Unfortunately, I am also a quitter. I have a hard time following through and sticking with any one thing. I am flighty and can talk myself into and out of anything.

With respect to my health, this means a million diets and plans started and very few carried out to the end. After having some success losing about 20lbs a couple months ago, I fainted at home and immediately quit everything. I stopped working out. I stopped using my fit bit. I stopped eating well. Of course, I very quickly gained 25lbs. The fainting, as it turns out, was a result of the medication I am on. Apparently, it’s a rare side effect of Zoloft. It’s something I am now aware of and can be more careful.

Anyway, my weight is higher than it’s ever been (pregnancy not included) and I feel gross. I have no energy. I am tired ALL THE TIME. My IBS has been flaring up like crazy and I have noticed my mood is quite low. It is time for a change. I have been talking to a few friends and have decided to try a new routine.

Enter The 21 Day Fix. I know it’s one of these fad exercise programs, but I am still going to give it a chance. What has drawn me to the Fix is that it focuses on learning healthy portions of every day foods, rather than calorie counting. It encourages eating clean and cutting out a lot of the crap that I have been living on for the last few years. I have absolutely no notion of what normal healthy portions are. This isn’t good, especially considering one of the other side effects of zoloft that I’ve been dealing with: Constant hunger. I used to eat until I was full, but that doesn’t happen any more. I wake up in the middle of the night starving. I could eat constantly if I would allow myself to do so.

So, back to the fix. Portion control is accomplished through the use of these nifty little containers.

21dayfixcontainNeat, right? It takes the guess work out of the whole process. Key for someone like me, who has absolutely no idea what they are doing. On top of eating better, there are daily workouts that are only 30 minutes. Totally do-able, even for a busy mom. So, I am going to try to document my experience with 21 Day Fix here, in the hope that it will not only keep me accountable but will force me to follow through. After all, it’s only 21 Days, right?

So, here we go.

Impressions while preparing for 21 Day Fix:

  • This is not a program for people who don’t have time or energy for planning. It took me, no word of a lie, 3+ hours to meal plan for myself and for Pat (who is participating with me, Gods bless him) for the week. It definitely takes a while to do the math and plan each day within the container limits. On the plus side, it will save me time on the day to day when it comes to figuring out what to eat and what to prepare. Most of the people that I’ve talked to about how to be successful in this program recommend taking the time to really prepare. The key is not to find yourself unsure about what to cook or not having the food in your home when you need it.
This took FOREVER

This took FOREVER

If you are interested, I can post a PDF of my meal plans. Comment and let me know!

If you are interested, I can post a PDF of my meal plans. Comment and let me know! Note that I am breast feeding pretty regularly, so I gave myself a bit of wiggle room to enjoy coffee every day and almond milk in my shake.

  • Not a cheap program. Thankfully, a highschool buddy of mine is a Beachbody Coach and was able to hook me up with the latest deal. Even still, the whole shebang, including the Beachbody Shakeology powder (I hear it works miracles and is made of unicorns and rainbows) came to about 150CAD. Add to that all the delicious food, and you are looking at a lot of $$.
  • My kitchen is now overrun with produce
  • Holy crap I have to drink a lot of water.

So, here we are. it is day 1. Wish me luck!

One thought on “21 Days

  1. Good luck, boo! And even if it doesn’t work, you now have a shit ton of ziploc-like containers and will enjoy water? Sometimes these diets can teach you what you really DO enjoy!

Leave a Reply

