Thankful

thankful

It’s Thanksgiving weekend here in Canada. While the last month has been a bit topsy turvy for us (really, when is it not?), I have so very much to be thankful for.

I was able to spend another year at home with my boy, which is an incredible blessing. I have a job that allows me to work from home and in hours that I can manage.

I have a bright, charming and sweet boy that brings joy, frustration and so many laughs into my life. He is growing bigger, more daring, more expressive with every day.

I have a husband who has known me in good, bad and every bit of the in between. Despite the troubles we have faced, he remains one of my dearest friends and my partner.

I have family, both blood and chosen, who make me feel loved and who bring light and beauty into our lives. While I may not have much of the family that I grew up with left, I have this amazing tribe of people that surround Liam with all of the care and support that I have wanted for him.

In that chosen family, I have the most amazing friends. Jenn, Krista, Sarah, Crystal, the April Mommies, Nat, Jackie, and of course, my online girl, Kaitlin. You guys are my strength and my sanity. I love you!

While we didn’t have much of a choice in the matter of our current dwelling, I am thankful for our home. It has provided us with a warm place to eat, create, rest and play for the last 7 years. It is full of memories and so many firsts. It is where my mother came to Pat to cry and let go of her fears and pain. It is where our pets have come and gone. It is where Pat proposed, and where I laboured until I couldn’t take it anymore. It is where Tracy comes to visit and where many cups of tea and wine have been enjoyed with friends and family. It is where we brought Liam after his birth and where he points to and yells “We’re home!” every time we turn down the street.

I am thankful for my health and my body.

I am thankful for this little space and for you, dear readers, for giving me a place to share my family and my life.

Oh, and coffee. I am really really thankful for coffee.

Happy Thanksgiving, all!

Leave a Reply

