And just like that, my mood fizzled. Last night we decided we were going to wait until the spring and try house hunting again. I shouldn’t be so disappointed, but there are some days where that is harder than others. This is one of them. Thanksgiving is around the corner. With that comes the inevitable feeling of loss when I think of the holidays dinners and crazy chaotic family get togethers of my teenaged years. Thankfully, my sister arrives in a week and that is keeping me smiling and got me through a particularly bad day.

Last year, a friend of mine from the bellydance world went missing. I had just chatted with her about her new tattoo (she went to my tattoo artist) a couple of days before. We discovered later that her husband had murdered her. She had been missing for maybe a week? Two? before he was arrested. We were all so devastated, especially because we had never believed he was capable of such a thing.

Yesterday, a few people I know started posting about a friend of theirs that was reported missing on Tuesday.

nykmorrigan

I think I only met her once in passing, but I am amazed by how many people I know are in her group of close friends. I feel so sick for them. I hope and pray that she is safe and is found soon. It all brings me back to Melissa’s disappearance, and I hope that Nyk gets in touch soon.

Tell the people you love how you feel. Hug them, laugh with them, and give them your time and attention. These days are so hard, and they remind us that anything could happen. I spent the day, a rainy cold one, cuddling with my boy in our pjs. We watched an obscene amount of tv, played with his trains and turned laundry into balls (which we threw at each other between giggles). I chatted with my sister by email, able to reach out across the country while she was at work. I napped when little man napped and then we went back to playing. Pat came home and I held him close. We all played and watched tv in the family room, had dinner then and basically created a little family nest for the evening. Now, I linger near Pat while he plays his video games while our baby sleeps. Thanksgiving is this weekend. I may have lost family, but I have found one so very special, so full of love and so very mine. I am blessed and I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

