Review: LUSH Mask of Magnaminty

I never knew what I was in for when I had my kid. Normally, I would dive into the whole wide world of parenting that completely surprised the hell out of me, but today I am referring to my skin. I have always been plagued by dry skin and eczema. I was the kid who always had mystery rashes and a backpack full of different creams to keep myself moisturized (Fellow geeks, I hope you are picturing Cassandra from Dr. Who)

MOISTURIZE ME!

MOISTURIZE ME!

I was not even remotely prepared for what would happen to my skin in pregnancy and beyond. Suddenly, I was like a typical preteen dealing with zits for the first time and I had no idea how to handle it. What’s worse is that I still have my eczema. I don’t just have combination skin, I have polar opposite combination skin. Thankfully, one of my long time friends is a trainer with LUSH. While my sister was in town, we made a trip out to one of the local LUSH locations and I came home with some of the new self-preserving Mask of Magnaminty to try.

lush1

As you can see, I have small break outs along my brow, my chin and my temples. I have been told that this is typical of hormonal break outs, so I should expect this pretty regularly. Oh, joy. Also, I am in the middle of my annual fall eczema return, where my eyelid (always just my left one) and my mouth get very very unhappy. I was told that Mask of Magnaminty was a perfect mask for combo skin with acne issues because of the blend of oil zapping ingredients balanced out by the sensitive skin ingredients. So, I gave it a go.

lush2

What makes the new mask different is that it is self-preserving. That means that it lasts a little longer and doesn’t require storing in the refrigerator. This was key for me, because I knew I wouldn’t get through the whole container in just a couple sittings. The ingredient that they have added to make it self-preserving is honey, a fantastic natural preserver (duh) which has the added bonus of being fantastic on combination skin. It has antibacterial and anti-fungal properties, (which is why it is a great first aid tool, too!)  It is rich in natural antioxidants and retains moisure, also great for keeping skin healthy, supple and rejuvenated. So, overall, great choice for me!

So, how did it feel? Definitely tingly, but not overwhelmingly so. I waited about 15 minutes for it to dry, and then used a damp cloth to wipe it off. Once mostly clean, I rinsed with water and voila! I was done! My skin felt moisturized and clean. There was no tightness, no dryness and my trouble spots felt great.

And the results? It has been almost a week since my first use and a few of my trouble spots have cleared up a bit. I would say that the mask doesn’t give immediate zit disappearing results, but the spots were less red, angry and huge after using it. This, for me, is a giant step in the right direction. Plus, who doesn’t love a face mask? Aside from my son, who was terrified by me and kept calling me a spooky witch. Note to self, always warn the toddler before applying any beauty product that needs to stay on longer than a second.

lush3

Like most of the LUSH products I’ve encountered, I really enjoy it. I would definitely recommend it to those of you who suffer through skin that can’t make up it’s mind. At very least, it’ll make you feel like you’re doing something to win the battle.

The Details:

Buy it here, for $24.95.

Use it like this:

**I have not been paid or compensated in anyway for this review. I just really enjoy this product and wanted to share my experience with you.

3 thoughts on “Review: LUSH Mask of Magnaminty

  1. Hey boo! Just to clarify for your readers, Mask of Magnaminty has a 14 month shelf life whether it is preserved or self-preserving. It’s always been the only LUSH face mask you don’t have to keep in the fridge. Self-preserving means rather than using synthetic preservatives at very minimal concentrations to keep the product good for 14 months, LUSH is using honey is massive doses in the mask (it is also there in the preserved version, there’s just more of it in the self-preserving) making for an environment in which bacteria do not thrive, keeping the product stable for 14 months. I love that you wrote about this, hahah! You don’t have to make this comment public or anything, you can just keep it in your backpocket if you like. :D

  2. I’ve used a mini version of this before and it was really nice and I loved the tingly feeling. :) didn’t you think it smelled of minty peas haha x

Leave a Reply

