Review: Ipsy February Glam Bag

Hey lovelies,

Happy Valentine’s Day, Lupercalia or Just Another Saturday to you! I was super pleased to receive this month’s Ipsy bag this week, just in time for me to look super pretty while sitting around watching Team Umizoomi and eating chocolate! This month, the theme of the bag was Ipsy Love. Here’s what I got:

Ipsy's February Glam BagThe Bag: I love the bag! Super cute. A little small, but kind of perfect for throwing in your purse.

The Loot:

Emite Make Up Professional Eyelash Curler

Ok, I have to admit I was excited to see this. I don’t have an eyelash curler, and I’ve always wanted to try one out. I love that it comes with replacement rubber pads. Unfortunately, I didn’t see much of a difference in my lashes for having used it. I am blessed with curled lashes already, so I think for me it’s an unnecessary step. Still good to have though, especially for those times that I want to feel extra fancy.

ModelCo Blush Cheek Powder in Cosmopolitan

I am a fairly dedicated Nars fan when it comes to blush. I pretty much exclusively use Orgasm when I wear blush. That said, part of what I enjoy about Ipsy is having the opportunity to try colours I wouldn’t necessarily pick for myself. That is the case here. I’ve always been a bit nervous about the more vibrant blush colours. Cosmopolitan is described as ballerina pink, but I would disagree. It’s brighter and richer than that. It goes on sheer and smoothly. I really enjoy the little pop it gave me. I will definitely use it again.

Mitchell and Peach Fine Radiance Face Oil

I was not thrilled when I saw this. My skin is ridiculous and tends to break out with minimal provocation. I have heard great things about using oils on the face, but I’ve still been too nervous to try it. I decided to give it a go, just to see. It was ok. A bit of a pain to apply. I put the drops on my finger tips and then distributed it on my face from there. It did give me a bit of a moisture boost for the day, and I haven’t broken out yet. My makeup went on quite smoothly over top and I didn’t feel greasy. Still, not sure I will use it often.

Eva NYC Up All Night Volumizing Spray

I have very fine hair, and a lot of it. It loves to lay flat against my head before suddenly puffing out at my ears. So, that is to say that anything that can help my roots be more lively is fine by me. I really enjoy the smell of this product, and the mist is quite light. My hair didn’t feel crispy or gross after using it. I haven’t used it for heat styling yet, so I will have to report back on that later. Still, definitely something I would use as part of my routine.

City Color Cosmetics, Creamy Lip Stain in Flirtini

Sadly, this one broke in transit. I was able to get enough product out of the packaging to give it a try anyway. Thankfully, Ipsy customer service is amazing and they are going to send me another one. Much like the blush in this month’s bag, I wasn’t sure about the bright pink colour but I went for it. Honestly, I kind of love it. It goes on super smooth and buttery, and is really quite pigmented. The stain itself lasts a fair bit of time, but would definitely require some reapplication through out the day. Also, because my skin is so dry, especially around my mouth, I found that I ended up with a bit of a lip liner look as it fades. This could be solved through reapplication and exfoliation before use, I think. Definitely throwing this one in my purse.

ipsylove2

In the sunlight, here is my look for this month. Don’t mind the crazy hair.

Close up of this month's look, using all of my glam bag haul. Want details of what I used? Check the bottom of this post.

Close up of this month’s look, using all of my glam bag haul. Want details of what I used? Check the bottom of this post.

So, over all it was a good bag. I love the pinks, and the hair mist was great. The eyelash curler was fun. The face oil was ok, but that’s fine. I’m a bit of special snowflake when it comes to my skin.  Did you get the Glam Bag this month? What did you get and what did you think of your haul? Let me know!

Used in this month’s look:
  • Mitchell and Peach Radiance Oil
  • Make Up Forever HD Foundation
  • Makeup Forever Highlighting Concealer
  • Benefit Boi-ing Concealer
  • Makeup Forever HD Microfinish Powder
  • Physician’s Formula Bronzer for Contouring
  • ModelCo Blush Cheek Powder
  • Benefit High Beam Highlighter
  • Urban Decay eyeshadows
  • Too Faced Better than Sex mascara

Leave a Reply

