Review: Ipsy April Glam Bag

Theme: Beautifully Bohemian. Man, was I excited about this. Boho is my jam.

April Ipsy Glam Bag

The Bag: I get what they were going for here, but I just don’t dig the look. I wish they had done for more of a patchwork look. The colours on this bag don’t read boho to me. I don’t see myself keeping this one.

The Loot:

Julie G Nail Colour in Damsel

Man, I was not sure about this colour when I saw it in my sneak peek. Was I ever wrong! This colour is perfect for spring. It is rich and fresh and I just love it. The product itself was great too. It has great coverage, and the applicator was great. I am definitely a fan.

aprilipsy5

Aromachology Sophisticated & Sensual Floral Eau de Parfum

I love perfume samples. Love them. I adore smelling pretty and samples give me the opportunity to do so without a huge investment. This specific perfume is lovely. It’s citrusy, floral and fresh. It’s pretty without being too heavy and sultry. On me it gets warmer, which is great because in the bottle it smells a little soapy. Now, I’m not sure if this specific scent is what I would call boho. I was expecting something more…incensey, with sandlewoods or patchouli, you know? I’m glad I got it, I just don’t know if it fits the theme. I am very happy with the size of the sample. I’ll get lots of wear out of it.

Lather Ultra Light Face Lotion

I’m getting the feeling that Ipsy really really wants me to moisturize. Well, fine then. Let’s give it a shot. I loved the lightness of this lotion. It absorbed in right away and was completely non-greasy. The scent is lovely too and makes me think of roses. I would definitely use this one again

theBalm Cosmetics NUDE Dude Eyeshadow Single in Flirty

I was hoping to get this shade! I have to say, the formula is great. It has good coverage and shine. The colour is perfect for my crease, especially with the colours I typically use. I was pretty disappointed in the size of the shadow. It is TINY. Definitely not full sized.

Starlooks Satin finish lip gloss

Ok, I have to say I was not excited about this gloss. It looked kind of meh. The colour ended up being a perfect neutral for me. It’s perfect for more of a natural or heavy eye look. Did not expect to love it like I do! This one is going to live in my purse. The one thing I will say is that it is kind of sticky, but I can handle that.

aprilipsy2

aprilipsy3

Sorry if I look a little blah in this month’s look. I have been sick for a while now and did the best I could considering the sinus infection. So, overall, I really enjoyed this month’s glam bag. The colours and formulas are great for me. I am a little disappointed in how they fit with the theme, but I’m a bit of a dork like that.

2 thoughts on “Review: Ipsy April Glam Bag

  1. This was fun to read! I think you and hot pink (lipstick and nail polish and other hot pink things) need to be together forever. Do you think they were trying to go for a “festival essentials” sort of bag, and were just capitalizing on the the cultural currency of boho?

Leave a Reply

