An Early Mother’s Day Gift

It is my third Mother’s Day. The day itself isn’t really a big deal in our house. My family does a pretty good job of making me feel appreciated and loved without a hallmark holiday. That said, I am always fond of a day where flowers and cards are encouraged. This year is even more special.  I got one hell of a gift.

Superhero Announcement

Yes! We are expecting a Yule baby!

babybeanSo, why has the last few weeks been difficult? Well,  on top of everything you read here, we’ve been having a crazy time leading up to this good news.

Back in March, I found I was feeling incredibly run down and sick all the time. I went to see my dr to see if there was something going on. While waiting for results, I decided to take a pregnancy test to see if maybe that was the cause of my troubles. This started a very confusing and difficult few weeks for us. You see, some pregnancy tests were coming back positive (yay!), but others were negative (huh?). My dr informed me that it looked like I was having an early miscarriage and blood tests confirmed. Time passed and I still felt pregnant, and the miscarriage didn’t come. It was a rollercoaster. We were afraid to feel anything, because the future felt like a massive unknown.

Easter weekend came and nothing changed. So, I tested again and it came back positive. My dr sent me for more tests and this time, we were confused and excited to get a very strong positive! Because of everything that happened, we were still very cautious. We also had no idea when I was due, because my cycle had been hugely wonky. My dr. sent me for an ultrasound this past week to confirm everything was looking good and the result was good!

I am excited to share this journey with you. I am nervous about going from one to two, but I can’t wait to bring another little one into our family. Morning Sickness has been brutal this time around, and my energy is pretty much non-existent. I hope to get posting more regularly again, but I can’t promise. I am now medicated, which is helping immensely, but I am still having a hard time. Thankfully, I live in a world of netflix and diclectin.

So, happy Mother’s Day to me, and to you, fellow mamas.

2 thoughts on “An Early Mother’s Day Gift

  1. Oh, Mama! Congrats, sweet love. My nausea was super intense with our latest as well. Healthy pregnancy juju to you, beauty! I’m ecstatic for you all! <3

Leave a Reply

