Review: Ipsy May Glam Bag

Theme: Jet Setter

Ipsy May Glam Bag and Contents

Bag: Meh? It’s a canvas bag with a cute image, but honestly, it’s not my style.

The Loot:

Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Lip Pencil in Ozone and two Bonus Revolution High Colour Lip Glosses (in Failbait and Bittersweet)

I was sooooo excited to see something from Urban Decay in this bag. I love me some UD. I haven’t used any of their lip products before, so I was pleased to test them out. The pencil itself was sort of ok. I expected better glide. Instead, it felt sort of…beeswax-y? Maybe my lips were in really rough shape and just shredded it. I don’t know. It was sticky and not really great for me.

Now, the colours I liked. They were fun! Failbait is a great neutral pink for me and I would totally wear it regularly. Bittersweet is purple. This is definitely outside of my comfort zone, but I had fun with it. I can totally see it being amazing for a night out. It was a bit much for my day to day play-date and grocery shopping lifestyle though. The formula is ok. I liked the sheen, but I found it a bit sticky. Seemed to last a while though, which is great.

Ipsy Bag - demonstrating the purple "bittersweet" lipgloss

Bellapierre Cosmetics Waterproof Mineral Gel Eyeliner in black

I used to be that girl that never left the house without a heavy dose of black eyeliner. I still have a fondness for the stuff, though I don’t wear it much at all anymore. I really like the longevity of the formula. It really does stick around. That said, I found it a bit soft, so getting a good cat’s eye isn’t easy with this one. Definitely better for just basic lines and smudging. I don’t know that I would ever go out looking for this specific liner again, but it will serve me well while I have it.

Pixi by Petra Beauty Bronzer

I am not really a bronzer girl. I am super pale and rather than tanning, I freckle. Bronzer has a tendency to look either orange or sort of…dirty on me. That said, I am up for trying anything. The formula itself was actually quite nice. It was smooth and silky, and went on really really easily. I was able to blend it out without any issues. The colour was a little brown for me, but I can see it being good for summer evenings. I looooove the size of the sample. This was a full sized product. I appreciate that.

Luxie Beauty Tapered Blending Eye Brush 205

I love brushes. Somehow, despite my love and my collection, I don’t have a decent blending brush. I was excited to give this one a try. First, I love the pink and bronze colouring. Super pretty. The brush is soft and did a fantastic job of blending my eyeshadow. This is definitely going into regular rotation.

Bare Republic Naturals SPF 30 Mineral Face Sunscreen Lotion

Because I’m so incredibly pale and come from a background of Irish, Scottish and Ukrainian folk, keeping my skin safe is a big deal for me. I am always looking for new face sunscreens that don’t set off my eczema and don’t make me break out or feel like I’m wearing 10lbs of lard on my cheeks. I was super impressed by this lotion. It goes on like silk, and absorbs pretty quickly. My makeup went on top without any streaking or issues. I loved it! I’m sad that we no longer have a target here where I can pick this up.

My Ipsy may glam bag look

Overall, I really liked this month’s bag. I had quite a few hits in this one. I hope that one of these days I get the dry shampoo, but otherwise, I think I got the best of the selection of items this month. Did you get an ipsy bag this month? What did you think of what you got?

Leave a Reply

