First Trimester Round Up

Now that I have rounded the corner on the 1st trimester, I think I will start trying to do weekly updates, like I did with Liam. In the mean time, here is how things have been going the last few months:

Me at 13 weeks pregnant

A peek at the past 3 Months: This pregnancy has been so strange so far. So very different from my pregnancy with Liam. I have constant sickness, requiring medication. I am exhausted most of the time. Thankfully, I can nap when Liam naps, so I get about 2 hrs of sleep during the day. Pregnancy Insomnia has started this past week, so I doubly need my nap.

I have felt one “kick” or body slam, which helps me connect with the wee Jelly Bean. Because of the rollercoaster of confirming this pregnancy, I am having a hard time accepting that I am actually pregnant. I have no inclination as to whether Bean is a boy or a girl, though I’m leaning towards girl because of a dream I had when I was pregnant with Liam. We will find out at the end of July.

How far along am I right now? 13 weeks, 2 days.

I am thinking…How this is going to be our last pregnancy and that I should be enjoying it more, and remembering more of the details, but it’s all going by in a blur.

I am thankful for… Diclectin, popcicles, consignment stores and that my preschooler naps.

I am creating…I just finished my pride shawl (Daybreak/Gaybreak). It just needs a bath and some blocking. I will share the FO soon. Started on In Threes as well, in yarn left over from Liam’s Gramps.

I am going…to be very busy this week! Pat has surgery on Thursday, my birthday is Friday as well as my next prenatal appointment. Saturday I’m seeing Sarah Harmer live with some friends

I am hoping…That we can figure out a way for me to have a doula

Around the house…Lots of work to do. We have emptied out the storage unit and now have a million boxes and a ton of clutter to contend with.

One of my favorite things…Maternity Jeans. Seriously.

Weight Gain: Total, about 4lbs.

Baby in the Produce World:  Baby Centre says she’s as long as a peapod
Picture of a peapod Movement/Signs of the Baby: Very little at this point, aside from the ultrasound we had at 6 weeks. I think I felt her body slam me once, but that’s it and it could have been gas.babybean Cravings and Aversions: My biggest craving right now is chocolate and poutine. This baby has good taste. As for aversions, chicken. Especially chicken breasts. Bleh. And coffee. Yep. This kid has made me drop my beloved coffee cold turkey. I had no intention of quitting caffeine, but apparently Jelly Bean had other ideas. I’m only now starting to be able to enjoy tea in the morning. One cup, no more. Dairy has been problematic too. No cereal with milk, no cheese on its own, butter is being replaced with coconut oil.
Body Changes/Weirdness: I started showing very early. I’m probably about as big now as I was at 20 weeks with Liam. I have very sore and very dark nipples this time, and more severe round ligament pain. Yesterday, while knitting, pregnancy carpel tunnel hit hard in my left hand. Fuuuuun. Also, there is no glowing with this pregnancy. My hair is frizznormous, my skin is both dry and breaking out in terrible cystic acne.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: It is a completely different experience working in a maternity store during pregnancy, as opposed to an office with someone who is very sensitive to anything baby related. People are so genuinely excited for me, and love talking babies. It’s so liberating and so much more positive. 
Other Pictures from the first trimester:

Leave a Reply

