Pregnancy Update: Month 4

Well, I had the very best of intentions. As it turns out, being pregnant, while working and parenting a preschooler takes a lot of time and weekly updates just aren’t fitting in to our schedule. So, here’s the plan. I will post every month about the pregnancy. Hopefully that’ll work.

18weeks

A peek at month 4: It was so nice to leave the 1st trimester behind. Thankfully, it meant my 24 hr nausea lessened and I was able to cut my diclectin intake way down. Also, I was able to start drinking a bit of coffee again. Mornings are so much better now. Unfortunately, I don’t have the massive self confidence and body love that I did the first time around. I feel like a bit old lump. Very emotional, tired and sore. Got to meet my OB, and I love him! He is wonderful with Liam and super patient and kind to me. Unfortunately, I had an infection requiring heavy duty antibiotics which are messing with my belly.

Baby attended his/her first concert in utero, as I went to go see Sarah Harmer with some friends for my birthday.

How far along am I right now? 18 weeks, or 5 months.

I am thinking…About whether Jellybean is a boy or a girl (I was convinced baby was a she until last night when I started referring to baby as Little Brother…so confused!). Also thinking about my hospital choice. Hoping I don’t regret it.

I am thankful for… Poutine, friends and naps

I am creating…Working on In Threes as well, in yarn left over from Liam’s Gramps. Got the yarn for the next sweater, Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Surprise Baby Jacket

I am going…to find out baby’s sex in 2 weeks!

I am hoping…that my recent boost of energy isn’t temporary. It feels like mini nesting, and it’s awesome. I love getting stuff done around the house

Around the house…Lots done! Most of the boxes have been gone through, lots of items have been given away or sold.

One of my favorite things…My nalgene water bottle, netflix, my mommy friends.

Weight Gain: 19 lbs. Thanks poutine!

Baby in the Produce World:  Baby Centre says baby is as big as a bell pepper
Week18Bellpepper_424x302 Movement/Signs of the Baby: A little bit here and there. Feels more like butterflies and stretching than kicks.

Cravings and Aversions: Still craving poutine like crazy. Not much else. No major aversions, mostly just textures or smells that turn my stomach. Over cooked noodles, ground beef, etc…
Body Changes/Weirdness: Belly is very different this time around. With Liam, I had a torpedo belly, with everything right in front. This time, it’s more like a tire, all the way around my hips and my belly. Otherwise, I’ve noticed some itchiness on my belly, and my breasts have been incredibly sore off and on.
Other Random Babeh/Pregnancy thoughts: I’m trying very hard to stay positive, but I’m finding my previous experiences still have a hold on me. I worry about my hospital choice, about my care choice, about everything really. I hope I can pull off a VBAC.
Other Pictures from the 4th month:

One thought on “Pregnancy Update: Month 4

Leave a Reply

